It All Began With Forever

The chief end of man is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever.  ~Westminster Shorter Catechism of Faith

Rereading this simple sentence, I finally realized I needed re-think forever. For some reason I’d decided that, at least in this case, forever began after I died. I would enjoy God when I got to heaven where I would live forever.
Of course forever really means: for a limitless time; or at all times, continually.
That seemed to include now, not just then.
~
This presented a whole new problem for me. Given my Berean background, I did a supporting scripture search, and concluded that the Westminster Catechism was a reasonable application of Biblical truth.
I was lost once again.
Everything I thought of seemed to fall under the glorifying, not the enjoying, category.
I made a mental list of things I enjoy – it was vast, but God wasn’t on it.
Then I filled in this sentence with everything I could sincerely say:
I_____ God.
I knew the answer before the test, but conspicuously absent in that blank was the word I wanted to see.There was love and worship and need and thank; the word enjoy just wasn’t in the mix.
Not only did I not think of God in terms of enjoying Him, it felt awkward. I enjoyed my family and my friends. I enjoyed a great cup of coffee and watching the sun drop into the ocean. I could enthusiastically say I enjoyed pizza, Rachmaninoff and a great book
But not God.
It felt odd, minimizing even. I thought it made God sound trite. I enjoyed His blessing, His people, His Word, His creation and I was grateful. Wasn’t that enough?
I enjoyed so much from Him. But not Him.

The chief end of man is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever.

If you made a list today of things you enjoy, would God make the cut?
Would you fill in the sentence with I ENJOY God!
I couldn’t. I knew there was still more

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

4 thoughts on “It All Began With Forever”

  1. Debby – I think everything we hear in church and every altruistic fiber in us tells us that our call is to serve God, and that’s how we’ll enjoy Him. Thanks for thinking with me! 😀

  2. You and Heidi are killing me today. Or should I say pushing and challenging me. Making me stretch a little further. A few years back my thoughts were shaped into understanding forever starts now…my life now can help bring God’s kingdom on earth. I don’t have to wait until later, the eternity that comes after physical death. I find joy in that so maybe I can translate that into an enjoyment for God. My problem his I enjoy serving him more than him. You’ve made me realize that. More thinking to do, as if I need that! 🙂

  3. That’s it exactly! When I was a child I enjoyed Him. As I grew older it seemed childish to enjoy Him. So I worshiped as best I could. I’m getting back the joy now. Huge difference.

Leave a Reply

