All I Need to Know

I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.  ~ C.S.Lewis

When I was younger, I believed many, many things with zealous conviction. I was so sure about so much, including the mind and will of God for me and for others. My faith in my own wisdom makes me blush.

Grace has forced me to see God as greater than the tight parameters of my systematic theology and well-reasoned arguments. Grace hasn’t greyed things for me. Grace has become the light.

I live a simple life. I have a simple faith. It hinges on 3 convictions:

1. God is good.

2. God knows me wholly and loves me personally.

3. When He and I disagree, He’s right and I’m wrong.

As basic and simple as these truths are, that’s all it takes to right my thinking when I start lilting. This isn’t all I believe, but when I become worn and weary, I return to these three moorings as a reminder to trust His grace, not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.

What truths keep you anchored?

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

8 thoughts on “All I Need to Know”

  1. 1. God is good.
    2. God loves me
    3. I can trust Him.

    I agree with all of yours, Debbie and I agree with Cathys, too. For me, these 3 ground me. I have to address the trust, because fear is my downfall. I go back to the trust when I’m afraid.

  2. You might be surprised but;

    1. God is in control. Thankfully. It brings me peace. He literally sees the whole picture, I don’t. He loves better than I can love, His handling of things is way more effective than mine. He takes the various upsets in life and weaves them into a beautiful picture that I couldn’t even imagine. Oh there’s pain but…He makes it beautiful.

    2. Not I but Christ. Gratefully. I really can do nothing. So when I surrender, LET GO, then He can.

    3. ” I Cathy” am His and He is mine.

    May I say that I know I do not demonstrate this in my everyday life it is still what I know to be true, believe and desire to permeate my life.
    See You Tube ” In Christ Alone” by Adrienne Liesching and Geoff Moore

  3. how many hours a day do you read? and how on earth do you remember all of these quotes???? and….the three are good enough for me too.

    1. Gaye – I’ve read a lot in over the years. Now I depend on my well worn books and the blessing of enhanced memory that the internet gives me when I can only remember the author and a part of a his/her thought. If you and Debby find these 3 to work for you, I consider myself to be in excellent company!

Leave a Reply

