Backwards Gratitude

I thank Thee first because I was never robbed before; second, because although they took my purse they did not take my life; third, because although they took my all, it was not much; and fourth because it was I who was robbed, and not I who robbed.  ~Matthew Henry

Gratitude poses a two-fold challenge for me. I long to live in a state of active gratitude. I want to live a life of thanksgiving for all the daily gifts that uphold and enrich me. I pray to be freed from whatever form of entitlement blinds me, causing me to take the ordinary for granted.That’s my first challenge.

Matthew Henry moves beyond a gratitude for blessings to a place of gratitude for what isn’t and hasn’t. So this, then, is my second challenge. I want to know that kind of gratefulness – to live a life so full of gratitude that I bend a knee to give thanks in reverse.

I pray to be more and more consciously grateful for His daily graces and I pray to be increasingly grateful for His daily mercies.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

Leave a Reply

