God’s Megaphone

But pain insists upon being attended to. God whispers to us in our pleasures, speaks in our conscience, but shouts in our pains: it is His megaphone to rouse a deaf world. ~ C.S. Lewis

I love C.S. Lewis. I love his fiction and his prose. I love his love of eggs and a pipe and a pint. I love his humility and his humor. I’ve never particularly liked this quote. I thought it made God seem somehow mean and punitive.

I also didn’t like pain. I lean toward stoicism when it comes to physical pain, but I decided at a young age, that emotional pain should be avoided at all cost. I had no idea how costly that philosophy would prove to be.

I didn’t limit my outlook to personal suffering. I couldn’t bear to have any one else suffer either. Emotional pain, more than anything, frightened me. I took it upon myself to try to protect everyone else from it. My friend use to tell me that there were worse things than hurting. I didn’t believe it. I know now that worse than hurting, is not hurting.

I spent so long, working so hard at being ‘not broken’ that when the small cracks appeared, it only took a tap and I fractured. God, in His infinite grace, gathered the pieces together and used pain to reshape my heart. I still like it better when He whispers but I’ve learned to listen closely when He shouts.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

9 thoughts on “God’s Megaphone”

    1. Malinda, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve skipped over this section from Lewis because I didn’t like the message (even though I did like the messenger). I skipped over a lot of things, because I didn’t like this particular message. Conversations I should have had, actions I should have taken…It’s been a lesson learned hard and late and hopefully, well. Thank you for sharing your experience, too.

  1. It’s always nice to be quoted in print! Ha. You’re an amazing woman. I like God’s reshaping work and your heart’s wisdom is evident in this blog. Keep it up. OK?

    1. Heidi – you’re the most quotable person I know! 😀 It’ll take me a life time to run out of Heidi quotes! Thank you for sharing your wisdom with me. You were so right – there are many things much worse than hurting!
      Every day I’m on the verge of giving up blogging all together. Thanks for your constant encouragement.

  2. I understand about trying to stay distant, keeping expectations low all thinking it will protect my heart. See those in front of me trying so many ways of self-medication to protect them from pain that realized early on, worse than hurting is not feeling at all. There is liberation in that. This also reminds me of a Third Day song I’ve liked called Still Listening. I’d tell you the lyrics of the chorus that speaks to this but I have this feeling you know them 😉

    1. And I looked for you in the fire and the wind
      But you weren’t there as far as I could see
      I thought I’d hear you shout
      but then i figured out
      that all a long you’re whispering to me
      And I’m still listening
      Debby – thanks for the reminder! 😉

Leave a Reply

