99% Forgiven

The difference between this situation (forgiving my neighbor) and the one in which you are asking God’s forgiveness this. In our own case we accept them easily enough. As regards my own sins it is a safe bet (though not a certainty) that the excuses are not really so good as I think: as regards other men’s sins against me it is a safe bet (though not a certainty) that the excuses are better than I think. One must therefore begin by attending carefully to everything which may show that the other man was not so much to blame as we thought. But even if he is absolutely fully to blame we will still have to forgive him; and even if ninety-nine percent of his apparent guilt can be explained away by really good excuses, the problem of forgiveness begins with the one percent of guilt which is left over. To be a Christian means to forgive the inexcusable, because God has forgiven the inexcusable in you. ~ C.S. Lewis

I don’t know about you but I can fall on either side of the wall. With certain people, or in certain circumstances, I’ll make excuses and write everything off as understandable, all things considered. But there are also times, with some people, in some situations, when I don’t want to extend any grace at all and I see everything as inexcusable.

Good thing God didn’t appoint me judge. He reserves that role for Himself. He’s made my job so much easier. Without having to weigh the evidence or consider the circumstances, I’m told to just forgive the whole bit, every time. 99% forgiveness, isn’t forgiveness, it’s simply me being magnanimous. Forgiveness is 100%, 100% of the time.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

7 thoughts on “99% Forgiven”

  1. I’m playing catch up with your posts. All good as usual. How true your statement “99% forgiveness isn’t forgiveness, it’s simply me being magnanimous.” That’s a tough one to admit sometimes yet key to any kind of spiritual freedom.

  2. I love that, Victoria – being forgiven IS sweet bliss! How can I withhold something so wonderful from anyone else? Thanks for sharing a bit of your heart with me. ~ Debbie

  3. Boy am I glad God didn’t appoint me judge either! Being forgiven is sweet bliss, and when we can forgive others the whole bit, true freedom is ours! Thank you for your post.

Leave a Reply

