Samuel

No one can pray and worry at the same time. ~Max Lucado

My tendency to worry seems to have almost gone away. I used to worry quite a lot. It’s been a long time since I’ve felt that churning in my gut and ache in my heart that I know as worry. I’d hoped it might be a sign of growing in my faith. And perhaps it is. But there’s still a long way to go.

I’d planned to write a another post on forgiveness tonight. Then threes things happened. First, I found out we’re moving this weekend to Wharton, about 45 miles from the coast. An hour later, I got a message that tropical storm Don is headed straight for us Friday. We’re already in the path and are moving right into the heart of it in a 32 foot RV. I listened, I prayed, I planned and I prayed some more.

Then I got a phone call, that set my stomach churning and my heart aching. My fourth grand baby was born 24 hours ago. His name is Samuel. His Mom and Dad and his little 2 year old sister have been happily anticipating his arrival.

When my son called to tell me the news last night, he was jubilant and all was well. When he called tonight, he was talking about Polycythemia (Elevated Red Blood Cell Count) and blood transfusions. I listened, I prayed and then I worried.

When I thought I might be in danger, I listened, I prayed, I planned and then I went back to praying. When I thought Sam might be in danger, I listened, I prayed, I worried and then I went back to worrying.

Samuel heard God, when even Eli failed to listen.

I quit listening and praying when I started worrying. Lucado is right. You can’t pray and worry at the same time. I have to choose which to do, worry or pray. Which would be of more benefit to Sam? As soon as that churning ache starts back up, I’m back on my knees.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

4 thoughts on “Samuel”

  1. bickleyhouse – Thank you so much for your prayers. Sam is home now and all is well. It appears the storm is veering south of us. We’ll know tomorrow. I feel so very sorry for the ranchers here who are so desperate for rain they didn’t even care if that meant a hurricane.

  2. My heart is with you and your family. I’m a fellow worrier continually wrestling with God for things I can only worry about while he is the answer. My eyes landed on this verse we used in last Sunday’s bulletin: “They will have no fear of bad news; their hearts are steadfast, trusting in the LORD” (Psalm 112:7, NIV). Praying for a steadfast heart for you, my friend, and comfort as well as good news on baby Samuel. He’s adorable.

    1. Debby – Sam is home and all seems to be well. Dr appointment tomorrow to make sure. Great verse – thank you so much for you care and encouragement. My kids have always been my trigger point for worry. Last night was a difficult, but good night for me. All the news seemed to cascade in at once. Working nights, I felt really alone… and then felt alone with God in a very good way. Thanks again for your prayers, friend. Debbie (with an ie) 😀

Leave a Reply

