Letting Go

I think that if God forgives us we must forgive ourselves. Otherwise it is almost like setting up ourselves as a higher tribunal than Him.                     ~ C.S. Lewis

This is the final post of this week’s forgiveness series. I’m ending at the beginning. Letting go. It’s hard to freely give what we refuse to receive. One reason extending forgiveness can be so difficult is that we often falter when it comes to forgiving ourselves. If we hang on to our own offenses, which we understand, at least in part, we fall into the trap of shame and guilt. How much more likely, then, will we be to call back another’s, which we may not understand at all, with a heart of blame and recrimination?

That’s the arrogance in unforgivness. It’s not only arrogant to fail to forgive others, it’s equally arrogant to refuse to forgive ourselves.

Maybe we need to practice apologizing to ourselves and letting it go! In that way forgiveness becomes more and more second nature, both an acceptance and an extension of the grace which God unabashedly lavishes.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

7 thoughts on “Letting Go”

  1. This has to be one of the hardest things for the men in our program to do. Not that it’s easy for many people. We have a prayer labyrinth during Holy Week and one of the stations is letting go. The instructions are to pick up one of the stones and think of something you’re holding on to. When you’re ready, you drop the stone in the water-filled bucket. I’ve heard how many struggle with that particular station but find it so freeing. Important topic.

    1. How wonderful that the guys are dropping stones instead of throwing them! What a great visual for letting go! Thanks, Debby!
      Debbie (not to be redundant)

  2. I really liked the concept of forgiving ourselves as a means of learning how to forgive others. I think you hit the nail on the head of the first problem in forgiveness. So many of us were brought up with the idea that we should be hard on ourselves. So to forgive ourselves is like letting us off the hook. Staying hooked to beating ourselves up was somehow programmed into our upbringing and taught as though it was a virtue. Odd I think. Much like the concept that we could somehow be perfect if we tried hard enough. I know that as I think through what you said when I get hard on myself, I will learn to let go. Thank you so much for your message. It was right on.

    1. Sharinhislove – I’m with you. It’s taken me a long time to see that praying for myself and forgiving myself are actually honoring to the Father. Slow learner, here. Thanks so much for your comment. You’ve encouraged me in return!
      Debbie

Leave a Reply

