What if God Was One of Us?

What if God was one of us?

If God had a name what would it be?
And would you call it to his face?
If you were faced with him in all his glory
what would you ask if you had just one question?

Yeah, Yeah, God is great
Yeah, Yeah, God is good
Yeah Yeah yeah yeah yeah

What if God was one of us?
Just a slob like one of us
Just a stranger on the bus
Trying to make his way home

If God had a face
What would it look like?
And would you want to see
If seeing meant that you would have to believe
In things like heaven and Jesus and the saints
and all the Prophets

Yeah Yeah God is great
Yeah Yeah God is good

~ Joan Osborne (Eric Bazilian)Joan Osborne asks some interesting questions. What if God was one of us? A few years back, He was. If God had a name what would it be? His friends who hung around with Him called Him Jesus. What would you ask if you had just one question? They didn’t just ask one, they never ran out of questions.

What if God was one of us? Just a slob like one of us. He was dusty, dirty, poor, hot, tired and hungry. Just a stranger on the bus. It was a donkey, but close enough. Trying to make his way home. He made it, skipping the scenic route and going straight to hell so that slobs like us wouldn’t have to.

If God had a face what would it look like? It would like like Grace. And would you want to see if seeing meant that you would have to believe in things like heaven and Jesus and the saints and all the Prophets. Here Joan answers her own question: Yeah, Yeah, God is great. Yeah, Yeah, God is good.

Yes!

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

16 thoughts on “What if God Was One of Us?”

  1. Debbie,

    Can you tell us where the statue in the photograph is located? It could probably stand at almost any contested border or sectarian war zone (Palestine and Israel, North and South Korea, China and Tibet), but the buildings in the background make me think it’s in Northern Ireland

    Thanks,

    Bill J. from Austin

      1. Thank you, Debbie, but my eye isn’t all that good. I recognized it because I’m a frequent visitor. Ireland is my heritage but it’s also one of the prettiest places on Earth, with some of the finest people.

        You may already know that there is another “peace statue” – a beautiful thing – at the border on the N3 north of Kilconney. I’ll add links to some photos of it:

        Best,

        Bill J. from Austin

      2. Bill – Thank you for reading and for sharing the peace statue photos – lovely. I’ve only been to Ireland once but I truly fell in love with the country. I particularly loved Glendalough and St Kevin’s. If I ever have an opportunity to go back, I’d like to go on retreat there.
        ~ Debbie

  2. Yes, a nice fresh look. I always liked that song thought it was pretty honest of someone to write it but why did I think it was Alanis Morissette? I wouldn’t worry about crossing lines. I think grace does that all the time.

    1. Debby, you, too? I originally posted it this morning under Alanis Morissette – who did record it (and I’m pretty sure that’s the version that I play in my head). A sharper than I, younger than I, reader emailed me with the Joan Osborne correction. She was right. 😀 No surprise there!
      And you’re so encouraging and so right, grace does cross the line all the time. I not a Lipton cup of tea (just not what everyone is looking for) which is just fine. 😉

  3. Great job Debbie. I’m really a big fan of dissecting songs and poetry to reveal the author’s (sometimes unknowingly) portrayal of truths. Thanks and God bless.

    1. Jill – How fun! I can’t always anticipate when I’ve crossed a line. I wasn’t sure with this one. 😉 Thanks for stopping by! I’ll continue to visit you, too!

Leave a Reply

