A Sunday Song – My Eyes Are Dry

My eyes are dry
My faith is old
My heart is hard
My prayers are cold
And I know how I ought to be
Alive to You and dead to me

But what can be done
For an old heart like mine
Soften it up
With oil and wine
The oil is You, Your Spirit of love
Please wash me anew
With the wine of Your Blood

My eyes are dry
My faith is old
My heart is hard
My prayers are cold
And I know how I ought to be
Alive to You and dead to me

~ Keith Green

I’ve begun to celebrate Sundays here with a song. Some of you may be too young to remember Keith Green. Even though he died the year my son was born, Keith was his favorite and we listened to Keith Green music all through the 90’s.

On July 28, 1982, there was a small plane crash and Keith went home to be with Jesus. The crash also took the life of his three-year-old son Josiah, and his two-year old daughter, Bethany. Melody was home with their one year old, Rebekah, and was also six weeks pregnant with their fourth child, Rachel. Keith was only 28 years old.

As I began to pray today, I looked at name after name, tender-hearted souls,  whose eyes are dry from the tears of grief. This song is for you and for all of us, that our hearts may, indeed, be continually softened with oil and wine.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

9 thoughts on “A Sunday Song – My Eyes Are Dry”

  1. this post and this song left me in tears this a.m. as you know so many people i love fall into the category you are talking about. thanks for allowing us to see your heart.

  2. I remember so well the sound of lament in Keith Green’s voice as he sang this song. His words always penetrated the hearts of those that had ears to hear. Lovely, thank you.

    1. Debby – It’s one of my very favorites, probably for that very reason. Dan (my son) is 28 now, the same age Keith Green was when he died. So very young. – Debbie

Leave a Reply

