Rest

Thou hast created us for Thyself, and our heart is not quiet until it rests in Thee.  ~ St Augustine

I have a pretty major case of RLS – Restless Leg Syndrome. I’m recovering from a serious case of RHS – Restless Heart Syndrome. I was always a very busy, active, involved Christian. The problem wasn’t that I was busy doing meaningless things. I was usually busy doing good things. But I was always so busy doing. In retrospect, I can see that all that activity was often more indicative of a restlessness in me, than it was of a conviction or a calling.

I couldn’t watch a campfire, a sunset, the tide ebb, or the moon move in and out of the clouds and just be still. I was always moving, talking, working. I was Martha. I admired Martha. I didn’t get the Mary bit at all.

I still have RLS. I can’t do a lot about my legs, although Requip helps, but there was something I could do about my RHS. These days, I talk less and watch more. I’m learning to love being still, inwardly and outwardly.

My heart was restless until it found its rest in Thee.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

9 thoughts on “Rest”

  1. I have always identified much more readily with Martha until I became good friends with a Mary or three. They are all active but they also have a great gift to share — the ability to sit and listen and learn. And lucky for me that they’ve been so willing to share.
    –SueBE

  2. Yes, we are much alike. I, however, am still struggling with the quiet part too often. I do find rest in the words you write and it is good for this heart.

Leave a Reply

