An Honest Assessment

Then he returned to his disciples and found them sleeping. “Couldn’t you men keep watch with me for one hour?” he asked Peter. “Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” Matthew 26:40, 41

I would be thrilled if all Jesus had to say to me was: “Debbie, watch and pray so that you won’t fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.”

If I’m going to make an honest assessment based on my history, when I’ve fallen, it wasn’t because the flesh was weak (although it was). It goes deeper than Peter’s struggle. Rarely have I stumbled into sin with my eyes closed. I usually know what I’m doing.

I’m doing what I want to do in that moment. It may be an unkind word, a bit of resentment, a stretch of the truth, a parcel of pride, a vein of vanity, a shred of condemnation. All are indulgences that aren’t a result of the weakness of my flesh. They’re a result of a profound ability to rationalize, at best, and a state of indifference at worst.

Most often, I’ve fallen because my spirit wasn’t willing. Of course my flesh is weak. That’s my nature. It always will be and so I’ll always need to watch and pray. But when my spirit isn’t willing, God won’t crush it and force His will on me. He calls and He waits. Grace is His calling card. That’s His way.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

4 thoughts on “An Honest Assessment”

  1. Thanks for the great words… I’m always amazed by Jesus’ words to the disciples. It seems He considered one hour of prayer as a small amount of time to pray. I struggle to stay focused for one minute. God bless.

  2. Thanks. You are more conservative than I am. But, who cares? I appreciate your thoughtful, articulate affirmation of faith.

    1. Thanks, lew! It’s possible we’re not as far a part as you think, but if we are, grace bridges the gap. I think most of the folks who read here are MORE conservative than I am, so I really value your balance!
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

