Check Your Hate at the Gate

Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity. Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as a member of one body you were called to peace. Colossians 3:12-15

I sat down this evening to catch up on some of my favorite blogs. I write two completely unrelated blogs. The fork in the road is a tale of my journey from life as a counselor/speaker to life as a gate guard in Texas. Two Minutes of Grace is about my ongoing spiritual journey into graceland (as my friend Debby calls it). I’d decided to take a night off and just read and skip writing.

I read Fork related blogs first, then I switched to read about grace. When I got to the ‘spiritual’ blogs, I felt like I’d arrived at a fork in the road and taken a wrong turn somehow. In response to one bloggers thoughtful post was a pseudo-intellectual rebuttal that was hate-filled and longer than the post itself.

I was stunned. The comments were less directed at the blogger than at every type/group that particular Christian hates. And he’s got some big time hating going on.

Here’s how I reacted: The first thing I thought was: What an arrogant man. Then I thought: No wonder we (Christians) are so unappealing, with people like that spewing their hate. Then I thought: He’s just the kind of person I can’t stand to be around. Then I thought: I’m glad this guy doesn’t read my blog. Then I thought: I’ve never met him and I already really don’t like him. Then I thought: MT handled it with his usual grace.

Then I actually stopped to think and to pray.

Then I thought: Someone really needs to check their hate at the gate – me.


Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

17 thoughts on “Check Your Hate at the Gate”

  1. I think I first learned this from my mother “hate the sin, love the sinner”. I too find it hard to be tolerant of haters. I am continually reminded of how much I need His Grace and Mercy.

  2. Romans 10:3 For they being ignorant of God’s righteousness, and going about to establish their own righteousness, have not submitted themselves unto the righteousness of God.

  3. Thanks for your graciousness friend, but trust me… I handle these situations no better than others. As a matter of fact I had already prepared a minor dissertation to rebut, and then as you, prayed, and allowed the Holy Spirit to send me to some wise counsel, my good friend over at Obsecrations. I also am much to intolerant of the intolerant. Guess that’s why we still need Jesus just as much today as the day He saved us. Thanks for your wonderful site, and God bless.

  4. I can stay out of the fray better when it’s the other ‘camp’ that’s being hateful, but when it’s Christians, I want to disassociate, lecture, confront…scream. In the end, I have to drop my attitude and pray. I think you said it so well, Debbie. There’s nothing about the teachings of Christ that justifies hatred.

    1. Heidi, funny how justified I can feel, for a few minutes and then the conviction sets in. Maybe someday I won’t feel justified in the first place. Wouldn’t that be grace!
      ~ Debbie

  5. Pax…and know that you are not alone. Further, the first step in recovery is admitting one has a problem. Welcome Debbie to the club of hypocrites, asking to be made into image of a God that loves the unloveable.

    1. Oh angel, how I wish I were new to the club. But along with you, I’m eternally grateful that He loves me, even when I’m intolerant and unlovable.
      ~ Debbie

      1. Carley – dear fellow struggler, thank you for sharing your heart. This seems to be my Achilles heel, but thank God, by His grace, it doesn’t have to always be.
        ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

