A Sunday Song – It is Well with My Soul

It is Well with My Soul

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.

~ Horatio G. Spafford

My Sunday Songs have been along the contemporary vain. Today I chose one of my favorite hymns. I loved this long before I knew the story that inspired Spafford to write it (it’s included in this video clip).

What more can I say, or ever wish to say than Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say It is well, it is well with my soul.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

12 thoughts on “A Sunday Song – It is Well with My Soul”

  1. One of my all time favorites… I think Sandi Patty did that one… beautiful!

    Here’s a little psalm I wrote some time ago…

    A Psalm of Blessings

    O Lord my God.
    The arrows that you filled my quiver with stand about me.
    They form a wall of protection and lift up my soul in my hour of trouble.
    Because You sent them, they are a continual blessing to me.
    They remind me that I belong to You and that You are my God.

    The woman You gave me is a mighty blessing from Your hand.
    She is my daily reminder of Your love for me.
    She labors all the day at the work You have provided for her, and her gentle soul brings me peace.

    You are my God.
    I am Your servant.
    Guide me in Your paths.
    Teach me Your ways and lead me to Your will for me that I may please You.

    The blessings of God are many and flow without ceasing to His people, even in their troubles.
    Give all praise and honor and glory to Him, for He is GOD, and there is no other.

  2. This has been my favorite hymn since I first heard and sang it at CV so many years ago. It brings tears to my eyes and even more so when reading of the authors faith. Thank you so much for sharing this with us, Debbie.
    It is well…

    1. Sue – how wonderful to see your name here at Grace! I sang this favorite hymn with my Dad for over 40 years. It’s dear to my heart, and yes, it is well,
      ~ Debbie

    1. Robin,
      Hello and welcome to Two Minutes of Grace! The hymn is only made more beautiful by the faith it took to write it, don’t you think? Thank you for walking this path with me.
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

