Hatch or Go Bad (revised)

It may be hard for an egg to turn into a bird: it would be a jolly sight harder for a bird to learn to fly while remaining an egg. We are like eggs at present. And you cannot go on indefinitely being just an ordinary, decent egg. We must be hatched or go bad. ~ C.S. Lewis

Did you ever hide Easter Eggs inside on a rainy Easter Sunday and come up one short? You quit looking after a while. Then, a week or two later, there’s a smell like something has died under the sofa cushion. It’s a natural process: hide it, lose it, ignore it, forget about it and in time, it goes bad.

Hatching is harder. At the tip of a baby bird’s beak is a hard point called an ‘egg tooth’. When the bird starts to hatch, it uses this egg tooth to poke through the shell. It takes all of the muscles the tiny bird has to get out. But if it stays in its shell, it will surely ‘go bad’.

There are days I don’t feel like coming out of my shell. On an emotional level, if I’m feeling something negative, my instinct is to hide it, ignore it or deny it. I rebel against my own feelings. I thought I’d gotten better. I think I was just going through a smooth patch.  A flash of anger or pain (physical or emotional) and I still try to sit on it, stuffing it back in my shell.

It isn’t even that I don’t know how to appropriately express those emotions. I taught it for 25 years. I taught it, but I didn’t practice it much. Here’s the problem: it gets so crowded with me and all those feeling in such tight quarters. It’s certainly not a place to fly. I have to break out or break down.

What are the options: hatch or go bad!

(Part of this was in my first post. 3 months later, I’ve rewritten it as God, in His grace, continues to reveal my need.)

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

14 thoughts on “Hatch or Go Bad (revised)”

  1. Honestly, I just love a good boiled egg… and hopefully not those left hidden for a week. How’s that for a man’s perspective? Pretty obvious where my focus is centered. This is a great post Debbie. And unfortunately, this has become the norm for our culture. We force who we really are into a shell, and present an avatar to the world. It’s why Christianity is no longer turning the world upside down. To the world, we are just a bunch of people who don’t drink, smoke, or cuss. They think we’ve lost our minds. (It would be okay for them to think that, but not for those reasons.) God makes us who He wants us to be in His time, and not a second sooner. It is the journey of the believer (maybe like a Pilgrim’s Progress). Jesus paid our debt in full! We can boldly have confidence in Him! But only in Him. If we could just come to the point where we accept this fully, we would surely understand the words, “For My yoke is easy, and My burden is light.” God bless you friend, praying for you.

    1. MtT – What a thoughtful and generous response. Thank you. I have a great deal to unlearn. I’m honored to have you pray for me. What a gift! I’m surprised at how uncomfortable I still am with being openly vulnerable. I think I watched Mary Poppins too many times when I was little. I’ve been slow to learn that the person God designed me to be is replete with a full range of emotions and that being perpetually ‘pleasant’ is fine if it’s real, but not so appealing if it peals off.
      ~ Debbie

  2. I love the truth of this, and respect the reference, so when I say I’ve got your bird tooth. God first, me second ;), please take it in the spirit given.

  3. Debbie, I can so relate. When the physical pain gets bad I struggle with retreating, because putting what I feel into words makes it too concrete, too real, and overwhelming. Knowing I have to live with the pain and injury forever is easier if I just accept it without acknowledging it consciously. Yet that also closes others out and locks me in, isolating me, and as you so aptly put, it “gets so crowded with me and all those feeling in such tight quarters.” So I need to find balance, to learn to “hatch or go bad.” Thank you for words I needed to read this morning. Blessings to you today!

    1. Cindee – I grew up in a family where there was a lot of serious illness, handled with sort of a stoic grace. Anything I might have experienced seemed so mild in comparison, I just didn’t mention it. There was also a good deal of heartache. I developed the same philosophy about emotional pain. I would stay externally present, but internally, I retreated. I need to return to your blog to understand more of your story. I know enough from this to hold you in my prayers. Thank you for traveling with me and sharing a part of your heart.
      ~ Debbie

  4. I just found out the egg comes out soft and hardens due to weather. The shell protects from predators. The shell has to have a lot of calcium to become hard. Hhhhmmmm

    1. Cathy – Sadly. I think I have some self-protective calcium deposits that aren’t serving any good purpose. Love that you looked all this up. Fascinating!
      ~ Debbie

  5. Ooohh but eggs can be so beautiful! If those had hatched we wouldn’t have that beautiful picture. Each step of the process is amazing and some things are better unhatched. 🙂 Yours are better than Martha Stewart eggs although hers have natural beauty.

    A thought just occurred …when u think about it I wonder at what point a bird egg gets it’s hard shell. It’s kind of funny to think of a bird walking or flying around with 3 hard shelled eggs in her. Glad ours don’t work that way. I shall have to Google it.

Leave a Reply

