The Whole Basket

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Galatians 5: 22-23

I was reading the post of a blogger-friend the other day and he mentioned that he was praying for patience. I read that and had the most appalling reaction: Be careful what you pray for.

Where did that come from? Do I really believe that? No. But I do know where it came from. I can still hear discussion as someone shared that they were praying for patience and immediately many in the group chimed in: Be careful what you pray for. If you pray for patience, God will bring all kinds of trials into your life!

OK, to me that sounds like a mixture of superstition and a really twisted imagine of the Father who loves us. I’ve never heard anyone express caution in praying for love or joy or peace or kindness, although self-control does get flagged occasionally.

A fruit is a fruit. We may like some better than others, but God, Who likes us better than anything, picked the fruit. He seems intent on the whole basket.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

18 thoughts on “The Whole Basket”

  1. I am right there with you too Debbie. I’ve often thought I should not be afraid to pray for something that “grows” me. Afraid? Do I not trust? Hmmm, He knows what is best for me at any time or on any day. You are so wise my friend, you must have prayed for wisdom!! Love ya, Chris

    1. Chris – dear one, you are being so brave right now. I pray that we’ll both know Him, more and more as our King of glory and our Prince of Peace (Hold Me Jesus – today’s post) – then there wouldn’t be any room left for fear! I love you, too.
      ~ Debbie

  2. As usual, you give us much to think about. GREAT message! I’m afraid I’ve been of the opinion that I shouldn’t pray for patience for all the reasons that you mentioned. Now I see it in an entirely different way, thanks to your wonderful insight. Thanks, Debbie. Many blessings. Sharon

    1. Sharon – you are such a gracious soul. Thank you so much.
      I’m certainly seeing the need to look at where my theology comes from… group discussions, hymns, books, even sayings – that have slipped in on just enough truth for me not to have noticed.
      Thank you again,
      ~Debbie

  3. Ahh yaahhh ! I never pray for patience because of that too. I agree with what you said Debbie. Excellent. Now here comes the song…. ” Ya say ya want a revolutionnn wweell ya know…….. Let it begin here :::::)))))

  4. Thankd Debbie. I look forward to these reminders each day. Some days I smile. Some days I think about it. And others, well, it is good to laugh and be thankful. So, thank you.

    1. John – What a nice thing to say. I was just thinking how tedious it must be to hear from me every day… I do plan on giving you a day off now and then! Thank you for your kind encouragement!
      ~ Debbie

  5. I pray for patience and love on a continuing basis. God gives us what is best for us in his due time. He knows the right time. I pray for the patience to leave it in his hands. He knows I love instant gratification and he keeps working on my patience. He knew I would be a handful when he created me!! lol.

    1. Jill – you’re such a sweetheart! Why am I not surprised that you pray for love and patience? You always encourage me, handful that you are! 😀
      ~ Debbie

  6. You got me and I don’t much like it 😉 I can’t tell you how many times I’ve told people I don’t pray for patience because I’m not asking for what comes with that. I’ve found he sometimes gives us what we don’t ask for too. Your point is well taken. Now to put it into practice….well, that’s going to take some patience 😉

    1. Debby – LOL!
      I actually thought I’d be alone on this one. Must be that stray DNA that came back to bite us.
      We’ll just have to pray together.
      ~Debbie

  7. I bought into that whole thing, too. We should desire all fruits of the spirit. Whatever it takes, God knows. I do want to be Christlike. Otherwise, I want to be but not if it is inconvenient, or what??

Leave a Reply

