You’re Not IT

I have a Holy Spirit and you’re not it.                                ~ H.H. Fogle

I’m famous among my friends (and perhaps already here at Two Minutes of Grace) for my love of reading and quoting “dead white men”. While I have an abiding respect for the writings of Lewis and Chesterton and Merton and Nouwen and McDonald, it’s often the words spoken by those I know and love that resonate the most deeply with me.

I have a Holy Spirit and you’re not it. This wasn’t said to me, but it could have been. Trapped in a hospital elevator on a long ride to the 8th floor, Heidi was exhorted by a church leader: You’re choosing Plan B for your life.

Clearly, nodding and simply walking away wasn’t an option. Not that she would have anyway – not her style. Heidi’s response was gentle but direct. I have a Holy Spirit and you’re not it.

As she shared this scenario with me, the truth of her words embedded themselves in my heart. I can’t begin to recount the number of times I’ve stopped myself from telling someone what they should or shouldn’t do. Or how many times I’ve caught myself on the verge of audaciously speaking for God and sharing my great insight into His will for their life.

They have a Holy Spirit and I’m not it. Thank you for the reminder, Heidi.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

21 thoughts on “You’re Not IT”

    1. Oh Paulann – This happened years ago, and I STILL have to call it back to mind when I think I have some grand view of God’s plan for another soul!
      ~ Debbie

  1. Coming over from today’s post, about sea walls. Oh gracious one, I love this. Praying now and asking Him to show me where and when I do this. Also thinking of all the times it’s been done to me and I never knew to respond like this . . .always sure that the other person was right and I was wrong. Maybe part of why He got me to a place where I am more isolated from people . . .but not from His Holy Spirit. 🙂
    love you lots! – the other deb

    1. Dearest Deb – I can’t picture myself saying it, but I certainly have used it more times than I’d like to admit, to keep myself from being someone else’s Holy Spirit. It’s interesting to me that exhortation, as I understand it, means to ‘come along side’, not to run over, the wandering one.
      Love to you, too, my friend!
      Debbie

  2. Absolutely awesome response. How awesome! Thanks for sharing this… how often do we fall into this error? While I am very appreciative of the wise counsel God places in our lives through people, we must remember, they are just people… not the Holy Spirit who lives within each of us. God bless

    1. thrugracealone – She’s quick on her feet, and solid in her convictions. I’m fortunate to have such a dear friend. I’m more of the nodding type, but I’m learning for wise examples! Thanks for reading!
      ~Debbie

  3. Gosh, after all these years of playing the part, you got me! It is so easy at times to think that we can give such great guidance and challenge what others choose to do, but your post nails it right on the head…believers have the Holy Spirit guiding them, as fellow-believers it is our obligation to encourage other believers to stay in communion with Him. We are all called into fellowship with Christ (1 Cor 1:9), but what He asks us to do can be very different, thus we are encouraged, “Let each one remain in the calling in which he was called.” 1 Cor 7:20.

    You’ve got a great blog going here, keep it up!

    1. BigSkyKen – Welcome to Two Minutes of Grace! Thank you for such a vulnerable response. Did I mention that this exchange took place years ago, and I still catch myself ‘channeling’ the Holy Spirit. Thanks for the encouragement!
      ~ Debbie

    1. johnars – You’re right, it is pretty direct and while I’ve never said it to anyone (not that I haven’t thought it), I say it to myself from time to time.
      ~ Debbie

  4. I came here because you left a reply on another Blog saying how dull yours was. Well it is’nt and you were almost certainly joking. I’m glad I came over and had a peek at what your saying.This sounds a it like spam to me so I’ll shut up now. Very good post by the way.

    1. countingducks – If you came from Tinkerbell, she read my other blog (theforkinthe road), but thank you and no I wasn’t joking and yes your comment does sound like spam, which is really funny! All of that said, I do thank you for your kind words and for dropping by!
      ~ Debbie

  5. I love it! I remember Heidi telling me about this a long time ago but I forgot about it. I’m embarrassed to say that I played that role. I actually need to say it to myself. I am not my own holy spirit either thank goodness. I try to be that too. I try to be everyone else but me whoever that is.

    Thank you Debbie

Leave a Reply

