Cheers, My Friends!

One hundred religious persons knit into a unity by careful organizations do not constitute a church any more than eleven dead men make a football team. ~ A. W. Tozer

If Tozer is right about what church isn’t; then, although I’ve gone to church all my life, I’ve had very little church experience.

I don’t watch much TV. I work nights so I program the DVR and hit the play button when I start to fade around 4 in the morning.

Last week I started recording Cheers. It must be on a lot since I already have 35 episodes in the queue. I’ve watched a couple, sort of. Actually, I’ve watched the opening sequence and listened to the theme song. I really love the theme song. After that, I lose interest.

I couldn’t explain what compelled me to record Cheers in the first place. I don’t care for beer and I haven’t followed a sitcom since Mary Tyler Moore.

Tonight I figured it out. I was looking for a church.

~
Making your way in the world today takes everything you’ve got.
Taking a break from all your worries, sure would help a lot.
Wouldn’t you like to get away?
Sometimes you want to go
Where everybody knows your name,
and they’re always glad you came.
You wanna be where you can see,
our troubles are all the same
You wanna be where everybody knows your name.
~
I love the song. I love the concept.
Maybe we could be more real with each other and find more grace if churches were a little bit more like the make-believe bar in Boston.
~

An interesting thing about blogging is that you get glimpses of the insides of people. You see aspects they choose to share in posts and comments that you might miss out on at the dinner table.

While I’m traveling, I’m uncertain of my schedule, but likely won’t write often. I’m mixing in one or two of my first posts with new ones. This was the 3rd or 4th post I’d written and although it was only a couple of months ago, I’ve reached different conclusions. I wasn’t just looking for a church, I was looking for you. Thank you for the fellowship we share here and for the encouragement you are in my life.

~

~

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

9 thoughts on “Cheers, My Friends!”

  1. You’re welcome to come to my home while you’re in CR too. I know that you have so many eager friends and family to see so even if it’s a cup of coffee at your campsite while we sit around a campfire that would also be wonderful. Just want a chance to give you and Heidi and hug and maybe do a little catching up.

  2. Gaye – I would be delighted to have church at your house – no fixing necessary! Schedule is completely up in the air right now. Should have a better idea after today. I love you, my friend!
    ~ Debbie

  3. you can come have church at my house. would dearly love to see you. and my house is it’s usual mess and i have no desire to fix it. love you. gg

Leave a Reply

