Self-Improvement Program

Most of us approach Christian living as self-improvement programs. We may desire spiritual growth, but when self-improvement become the center of our focus, rather than Christ, our focus is displaced. We tend to be preoccupied with ourselves instead of with Christ.

Am I growing? Am I getting any better? Am I more Christ-like today? What am I learning?

As we grasp the unconditional love, grace and power of God, then honoring Christ will increasingly be our consuming passion. God wants us to have a healthy self-awareness and to periodically analyze our lives, but He does not want us to be preoccupied with ourselves. The only One worthy of our preoccupation is Christ, our sovereign Lord. ~ Robert McGee

When I found out I’d be taking an unexpected vacation back to Iowa this week, I was initially so excited! The trip is for pleasant purposes and I was anxious to see my sweet family and dear friends.

That was my first reaction. Then it was on to the self-improvement program. I’m not ready! I need more! I need more time to become wiser, more time to be more Christ-like. I also wanted more time to lose weight and to have whiter teeth. I became entirely myopic. I was so preoccupied with myself that I lost my focus. My focus on my loved ones and my focus on the One who loves me.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

13 thoughts on “Self-Improvement Program”

  1. We all worry about those things from time to time instead of seeing ourselves through our Makers eyes. He loves us just the way we are and we should learn to love ourselves in the same way. Debbie, your beauty even comes through the words that you write.

    1. Debby – I had a grand evening with the family and they didn’t seem to mind my grey hair or the size of my jeans.:)
      The girls were enthralled with Henry (my schoodle) so I could have had purple hair and green teeth and I don’t think they would have noticed! 😉
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

