My Way or the HIGHway

There are many different ways of bringing people into His kingdom. I have therefore learned to be cautious in my judgement. ~ C.S. Lewis

I’m still traveling and will be for another week. I’ve had the joy of reuniting with family and with many old friends, some I haven’t seen for years. It’s been an interesting trip. I’ve been gone for 12 days, driven nearly 3300 miles with another 1500 to go.

One of the fascinating aspects of this journey has been seeing how God has changed us. My grand daughters (whom I hadn’t seen for 2 years) are now 3 and 5 and completely unconditional in their love. They’ve outgrown baby clothes and baby ways and have become funny and expressive and imaginative!

My friends have changed, too. They’ve grown in different ways. With some, we have more in common than ever. I can tell as soon as our eyes meet. With others, our thinking, even our convictions, have taken us in divergent directions. I used to find differences, particularly spiritual differences, threatening.

I also used to be fairly certain that I was generally always right. While I never liked the saying My way or the highway, I’m afraid I unconsciously subscribed to it when someone espoused opinions and convictions very different from mine. Now though, I see more and more, the mystery of God in our differences.

C.S. Lewis offers a humble and wise warning: learn to be cautious in judgement, God brings people into His kingdom in a myriad of ways. It isn’t my way or the high way; it’s the HIGH way, any way that leads to Him!

(A personal aside to you who regularly read and share your time and thoughts so generously here – I’ve had virtually no internet and even less free time as I try to soak up every moment I can, face to face with those I haven’t seen for so long. I will read your wonderful blogs and respond to your comments when I get back home in a week. MT – I have scheduled another Sunday Song. We’ll see if I got the date right this time? Otherwise, you may be singing on Saturday again!)

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

18 thoughts on “My Way or the HIGHway”

    1. Christopher – Welcome to TMG and thank you for your kind words. I’m learning that He is a God of Majesty and Mystery and that’s just fine by me! 🙂
      ~ Debbie

  1. Judi – so well put. It is quite grand both to find a kindred soul and to learn from those on a very different page! Thanks for sharing these 2 minutes with me!
    ~ Debbie

  2. Debbie I so agree…judging others is so harsh and I believe we must strive to live as Jesus did. Thank you so much for your post….And also I agree with Drusilla, I’ve posted on my blog judging others, taming the tongue. There’s definitely a message! Thanks so much…Robin

  3. Debbie, A few of us bloggers have been discussing the similarities in our posts recently, seeing God’s hand in directing the ‘topics’ of conversation that we have been dealing with. In the last few days I have read others that have touched on being judgemental from different angles, and yours has put an added dimension to what I have been reading. Obviously there is a message here that needs listening to. Thank you for your thoughts.

    1. Drusilla – I turned on the computer tonight to find that I’m 367 posts behind in my blog reading and 168 emails so it will take me a bit of time to catch up next week. I look forward to reading all that you’ve been writing.
      Thank you for sharing with me here!
      ~ Debbie

      1. A grea post Debbie and in Drusilla’s comment – many are at this similar part of the journey and others at different places. If all were at the same, we would not have something to look ahead to. I look foward to journeying more with you both. Blessings t you.

    1. Peter – I’m still not home and approaching 5000 miles. I think that’s an old folk song.(Lord I’m 1, Lord I’m 2, Lord I’m 3, Lord I’m 4, Lord I’m 5000 miles away from home.) I’m not particularly clear on the meaning since the chorus is just a repetition of Away from home…
      Anyway – it has been quite a journey. I’ve missed countingducks but will rejoin you soon!
      ~ Debbie

  4. I use to not like the idea of mystery relating to God but somewhere in the past few years have come to quite enjoy that part of Him. It’s good to see you back in print. Thinking of your continuing journey.

    1. Debby – I’m popping in briefly (paid $3 for internet for the day – funny they still do that). Home Sunday, although home has moved so I’m hoping the internet card will work there!
      Like you, I haven’t always wanted a shroud. There was a day when I only wanted the stone tablets. 😉
      Your friend!
      ~Debbie

  5. Debbie, I couldn’t agree with you more. In the past few years God has shown me so much of what He is not. He is so much more … an ever revealing mystery. He truly brings people to Himself in the most unique ways … so specific to each and every person. Amazing.

    1. Cathy, beautifully stated – God has shown you so much of what He is not…because He is so much more. I love that! Thank you for sharing your wisdom and heart!
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

