Breathalizer

Experience has taught me that I connect best with others when I connect with the core of myself. When I allow God to liberate me from unhealthy dependence on people, I listen more attentively, love more unselfishly, and am more compassionate and playful. I take myself less seriously, becoming aware that the breath of the Father is on my face.  ~ Brennan Manning

Have you ever played Telephone with two paper cups and a tightly stretched string? One person talks into their cup and the other person holds their cup to their ear and listens. The string serves as a conductor for the sound waves.

It actually works unless there’s too much slack. You have to be careful to keep the string synched just right so the sounds waves can hop down the line. It’s listening. It’s never easy. It takes practice.

Of course, you also have to remember, it’s just a paper cup. It’s fragile. If you get too intense and pull too hard, the string will rip right through the bottom and the connection will be completely lost.

It seems to work the same way with people. Listening is never easy and we’re all also fragile. Connecting is a fine line between pulling too hard and giving some slack. As Brennan says, when I allow God to liberate me from unhealthy dependence on people, I listen more attentively, love more unselfishly, and am more compassionate and playful. I take myself less seriously, becoming aware that the breath of the Father is on my face.

May we all breathe His breath on each other in attentive, compassionate, loving listening.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

12 thoughts on “Breathalizer”

  1. MT, Robin, Sharon, Debby, Bonnie, Jeff and SPTP – I’m uncertain of blogging protocol, but I want to thank you for reading and responding, whether that’s the way it’s done in the blog-0-sphere or not.
    With gratitude,
    ~ Debbie

    1. MT – thanks so much for your kind words. I’ll a little writing this week, but I have, according to my Google Reader and emails, about 354 posts to catch up on, including several of yours!
      ~ Debbie

  2. i am dealing with some very painful news today. this post helps me remember that the person i am sad over is very fragile. i believe we heal often partly from the way others lovingly relate to us. the image of too tight or too lax is thought provoking.

    1. Gaye, dear sweet friend, my heart aches reading of your pain. Know that you will be on my heart and in my prayers, over and over.
      I love you and hurt with you,
      Debbie

    1. SPTP2011 – Thank you sharing these few moments with me. I very much look forward to reading more of your heart tomorrow when I have real internet access again and can read your blog.
      I so love being prayed for, and I thank you.
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

