A Sunday Song – This World

This World Is Not My Home ~ written by Mary Reeves & Albert E.Brumley

This world is not my home I’m just a passing through
My treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore

Chorus:
O Lord, I know, I have no friend like you
If heaven’s not my home O lord what can I do
The angel’s beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore

My Savior pardoned me from guilt and shame I know
I’ll trust His saving grace while traveling here below
I know He’ll welcome me at heavens open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world any more

I have a precious mother up in glory land
I don’t expect to stop until I clasp her hand
For me she’s waiting now at heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore

The saints in glory land are shouting victory
I want to join their band and live eternally
I hear the sweetest praise from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world any more.

I’ve just returned today from a 5000 mile road trip. For three weeks, I’ve awaken in a new place nearly every night. I’m home now, temporarily. My job requires me to move every 3-4 weeks, but that’s not what makes my status transient. This world isn’t my home, isn’t meant to be.

When I keep that in mind, I find great joy here. When I try to make this my permanent home, I struggle with trying to make it all just right, right now.

As I was thinking about passing through, I found a sweet rendition of this old gospel song on You Tube for today’s Sunday Song.

Thank you for sharing in the journey.

~

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

6 thoughts on “A Sunday Song – This World”

Leave a Reply

