Baggage

I think joy and sweetness and affection are a spiritual path. We’re here to know God, to love and serve God, and to be blown away by the beauty and miracle of nature. You just have to get rid of so much baggage to be light enough to dance, to sing, to play. You don’t have time to carry grudges; you don’t have time to cling to the need to be right. ~ Anne Lamott

Of course we all think we’re right, if we’re given to thinking at all, or we’d change our minds, wouldn’t we? But there’s a world of difference between thinking I’m likely right in my views and persuasions and in needing to be right.

Needing to be right is like walking in the water in with your tennis shoes and blue jeans on. Heavy with myopia and soaked to the skin with the weight of wearing that which should have been shed, we slog and slosh, proving our point, boldly bearing grudges and rarely giving a thought to dancing.

How often would you describe someone as full of joy and sweetness and affection and the need to be right? Some things are too incongruent to mingle.

When I think I’m right, I share my perspectives with some optimism that you’ll hear me and I’ll hear you and, and, when I’m wrong, I’ll change and grow. When I need to be right, I don’t discuss, I dictate. I don’t listen, I lecture. I don’t learn, I don’t dare.

Nothing weighs one down quite like carrying a grudge, proving a point or the needing to be right. All that extra baggage can sink the ship really, can’t it?

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

5 thoughts on “Baggage”

  1. Thanks Judi, Heidi, Debby, MT, Thypolar, Jeanne and SPTP for confirming my suspicion that I’m right (just kidding). Thanks for your time. It’s a privilege!
    ~ Debbie.

  2. Many years after my parents divorced my dad told me his main problem was that my mom was right so much and he couldn’t deal with it.

    Tough subject but not to be kept silent if we are to grow. You’ve shown you’re not afraid of the hard things. Thank God for that!

    1. Debby – Thank you so much for sharing your own heart here.
      It seems to me most of us lean toward needing to be right, or needing to make things right. Either behavior wreaks havoc in relationships. The combination is the old opposites attract, that becomes very unattractive and unhealthy.
      Part of aging, for me, is seeing how stunningly often I’ve been so sure… and so wrong. Blessings, my friend,
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

