99 Bottles of Beer

He straightened up and said to them, ‘He who is without sin among you, let him be the first to throw a stone.’ Again He stooped down and wrote on the ground. At this, those who heard began to go away one at a time, the older ones first, until only Jesus was left with the woman still standing there. Jesus straightened up and asked her, ‘Woman, where are they? Has no one accused you?’ “No one, Sir”, she said. ‘Then neither do I condemn you’, Jesus said. ‘Go now and stop sinning.’ ~ John 8: 7-11

Do you remember the song 99 Bottles of Beef on the Wall? It was one of those songs we used to sing on the bus on field trips, long before any of us (or at least most of us) had ever tasted a beer. Funny how, after all these years, that particular song came to mind tonight as I was reading John.

Take one down, pass it around, 98 bottles of beer on the wall. Starting at 99, passing the bottle and reaching for another, it took a long time to run out of beer. I don’t remember that we ever sang it all the way through.

It’s sort of the same way with stone throwing. Pick one up, pass it around and there’s still an endless supply of stones on the ground. Wrong denomination, take one down; wrong Bible version, take one down; wrong choice of movies, take one down; wrong life style, take one down; wrong political party, take one down; wrong beverage, take one down; wrong taste in music, take one down; wrong eating habits, take one down; wrong hobbies, take one down; wrong habits, take one down …

Pick up a stone, pass it around. Ashes, ashes we all fall down.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

16 thoughts on “99 Bottles of Beer”

    1. Thanks, MT – I’m going to have to be careful what songs I post in the future. I’m one of those people whose head works like a non-stop jukebox. I had 99 bottles of beer playing in my head all day yesterday! 😉
      ~ Debbie

  1. Always humbled and honored, and let the Lord be praised for bringing all of us together, especially in those opportune moments when we need the touch of our Savior, Lord, and our friends in Christ. Let us also be friends to those who are in need of the Savior in their lives. Blessings, dear friend. Sharon

  2. Thank you so much Debbie. I love how you put this . . .those things that we can be so sure we are right about and someone else is wrong. 😦 Praying to drop any stones that I might be thinking of picking up today. God bless you and your heart of grace!

  3. Wow! You know how to challenge us, don’t you, Debbie? Amazing gift! You go straight to the core and make us think. It’s one of the reasons I love reading your blog. You are helping me grow. Thanks, and Blessings. Sharon

  4. Hey Debbie! Thanks for the thoughts! Seems to be a theme for me today. I guess the Lord is working on some of these area in my life. Usually He is gracious enough to speak things like this into my life before I walk into the place I need them. Thanks for being His voice today!

    1. jelillie – Thank you for spending a couple of moments with me. It is indeed grace when the Lord brings something to our hearts before the moment of need. I’m headed off to find you and see what He has impressed on your heart today!
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

