Half and Half

Humans are amphibians – half spirit and half animal. As spirits they belong to the eternal world, but as animals they inhabit time. ~ C.S. Lewis

Amphibians, not quite fish and not quite reptiles. They start out in the water and, in adulthood, usually live on land. This double life is also at the root of their name, amphibian, which is derived from the Greek prefix amphi- means “both,” or “double,” and the Greek word bios means “life.”ย 

Lewis says we are amphibians, in a different sort of way. We, too, have a double life. We start out in this world and end up in the eternal one.

Today is my birthday.

Amphibian that I am, I love this land but long for my home.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

21 thoughts on “Half and Half”

  1. Jeff, Jeanne, Jelillie,Jefferey and MT – Wow! That already sounds like a family with all those J’s (MT – have you ever thought of adding a J to your name?)! Isn’t it a Joy to know that one day soon, the longing will end, and will celebrate together, forever!
    ~ Just Debbie ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Oh, me, too. I feel so torn. I love my family, and I kind of enjoy this life. But I’m also very weary of the fight. I long for the day… God bless you, Debbie!

    1. jelillie – You are so good at asking questions (having spent a bit of time now reading your blog)! I’ve never thought about it, While it seems a bit unlikely to me, I suppose we might?!
      I do expect a great deal of celebration! I look forward to eating cake with you there! ๐Ÿ˜€
      ~ Debbie

  3. Happy, Happy Birthday, Debby! Wishing you a beautiful day of sweet surprises — impish little green tree frogs peeking from the rim of a cup — unexpected blessings wrapped in love and tied with bright ribbons of grace. You are a blessing!

    1. Thank you for the warm wishes, Jeanne. I just clicked on my quoted author section and see that this is my 18th Lewis quote! That’s a lot, even for me but I couldn’t resist this one! ๐Ÿ˜‰
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

