A Sunday Song – Be Thou My Vision

Be Thou My Vision by Eden’s Bridge

Be Thou my vision, oh Lord of my heart
Nought be all else to me, save that Thou art
Thou my best thought by day or by night
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light

Be Thou my wisdom, and Thou my true word
I ever with Thee and Thou with me Lord
Thou my great Father and I Thy true son
Thou in me dwelling and I with Thee one

Riches I need not, nor man’s empty praise
Thou mine inheritance now and always
Thou and Thou only first in my heart
High king of heaven my treasure Thou art

Be Thou my vision, oh Lord of my heart
Nought be all else to me, save that Thou art
Thou my best thought by day or by night
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light

High king of heaven, my victory won
May I reach heaven’s joy, bright heaven sun
Heart of my own heart, whatever befall
Still be my vision, oh ruler of all

Still be my vision, oh ruler of all

As many of you know, it’s my habit on Sunday’s to choose a song to share. Be Thou My Vision isn’t just an ancient hymn that I deeply love, it’s the prayer of my soul. From my lips to Your heart, O God.

Be Thou my vision, so that I see what You see around me, in others, in me. Be Thou my wisdom, check any tendency in me to assume or judge. Thou and Thou only, first in my heart, so that my love for You and Yours for me overshadows and informs everything else.

Thou my best thought, by day and by night draw my thoughts back to You, whatever befall, High King of heaven, Be Thou my vision oh Ruler of all.

Amen

I particularly like this Old Irish version by Eden’s Bridge.

χαρις my friends,

~

~

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

21 thoughts on “A Sunday Song – Be Thou My Vision”

  1. I am with Mel I love the images and the Hymn. Being Catholic I am especially fond of the priest of my parish and the way he really sings the litargy. It just moves me and feels Ancient! I can just imagine my self with Joseph of Arimethea 1700 years ago singing the litargy only outside in Latin! That is of course, just in my head, but it brings peace. Thank you for such a Peaceful post! A PERFECT way to begin a week! Peace, Jen

    1. Jen – At Our Lady of the Mississippi Abbey in Dubuque, Sister Kathleen plays the harp every Sunday night at Compline. In all of my years of retreats there, the Sister have sung Be Thou My Vision during this service almost every time.The harp, the candlelight, the stillness and the Sisters sweetly singing brings tears every time.
      ~ Debbie

  2. Debbie,
    Thank you, thank you! I didn’t get to this until Monday but after 6 of “those” days in a row, this was exactly what I needed to reorient my heart and soul.
    –SueBE

    1. SueBE – You know that expression, ‘Timing is everything’ – Isn’t is great that His is always spot on! 😀
      I hope the next 6 days are much better,
      ~ Debbie

    1. SPTP – Thank you for your prayers! Since I’m always playing something in my head, this ancient hymn has been a lovely grove to but stuck in.
      ~ Debbie

  3. Debbie, i love your translation of the hymn beneath the beautiful Irish bridge. I visited Ireland in 1994 … and YEARN to go back … this pic has me itchin’ to go back.

    Back to translation … i’m not as literate in hymns and bible verse as you, but i see its potential to translate into “humanity” … our “foibles” … judging ourselves — judging others. God forgives and accepts … but i’d say He wants us to take the high road if you will … try to go easy on ourselves and others.

    Peace, and thanks for a beautifully designed, peaceful blog. The misty greens and mountain-views are my nirvana on earth. Melissa

    1. Melissa – I took this picture in Glendalough last year during an amazing 3 1/2 week trip to the British Isles. This was one of my favorite spots. It implanted itself in my heart. Ireland actually looks remarkably like the southern Oregon coast (except for the heather) so it felt like going home.
      I love your translation (although I think the high road might take us to Scotland). ;D.
      ~ Debbie

      1. Yes. This is a song that is dear to my heart. Whenever I think of it or sing it I am brought to a place of stillness, awe and a communion with God that only the Holy Spirit could utter the words I feel.
        Thank you for sharing it

        I’d love to go th Ireland.

Leave a Reply

