I Forgot Why I Came

Come to the Word for one purpose and that is to meet the Lord. Not to get your mind crammed full of things about the sacred Word, but come to it to meet the Lord. Make it a medium, not of Biblical scholarship, but of fellowship with Christ. Behold the Lord.                              ~ Norman Douty

I spent most of my adult life in a smart church. It was a church of highly educated people who applied themselves diligently to the study of the Word. Our children all knew the books of the Bible by age 5. Most of us could quote chapter and verse to support our position on virtually every topic.

I have no doubt that it was a church made up of individuals with a great love for God. Some of them are among my dearest friends to this day.

The problem wasn’t the church, the problem was me. I learned the grammar, studied the Greek, memorized the passages, all the while equating knowledge with growth. I got smarter but not wiser. After 25 years I knew so much more about the Bible, but not so much more about the Author.

I forgot why I came in the first place. Behold the Lord.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

33 thoughts on “I Forgot Why I Came”

  1. I love your honesty and what this is about . . .coming to meet Him. For some reason tonight, it is bringing tears. Thank you! What a beautiful blog from a beautiful daughter of His!

  2. This post resonates.

    Growing up in a church which kept changing its religious views and then changing to the Catholic Church before 20…I loved the mysticism and the Latin. They knew, I thought, where they were going. But do they? or any organized religion.

    God is everywhere…the trees, the rocks, the moon, the faces of dogs and children and cats and lambs.

    My latest round of going and then not going to Mass taught me to look within and into all that has been given to me to enjoy.

    I do not feel that one has to attend church because if you don’t take God with you, you will certainly not find him there.

    Just my two cents.

  3. Debbie Hello: Point well made – in reference to knowing more about God. The great Corrie Ten Boom was right: “You will never discover Christ is all you need, Until Christ is all you have.” The Scriptures are all-sufficient, for they speak of Christ, point to Christ, and bring us to Christ–So 25 year of study will never fail you:).

    Warm Regards in his Name

    Robin

    1. Hello Robin – So very true. both the quote from Corrie Ten Boom and your comment on the Scriptures.
      I am thankful for all I’ve been taught and for the years of studying. I simply lost my focus of the why at the heart of it.
      By the way, I think aslansmane is a brilliant name for a blog. I will probably never know how much picture of Jesus was formed in Narnia (more than Lewis intended, I suspect).
      Tonight I’m in the world of George McDonald and haven’t quite figured out where it’s leading. 😉
      ~ Debbie

  4. Thanks for this Debbie. As I read your post and all the comments, it made me think of our AWANA group at church. For those that don’t know; AWANA stands for Approved Workman Are Not Ashamed. It is a Bible Club for kids from 4-5 yrs. of age to mid-teen.

    It’s like VBS but instead of running every day for a week or two, ours runs on Friday nights from October through the beginning of May. The time is broken up into three ‘classes’ — storytime with a local missionary; game time in the gym; and book time in which they memorize Bible verses and learn lessons.

    What I have found through working with these kids, even the ones that are into 5th & 6th grades is that they do not understand what they are memorizing. They stumble over the words, and have a hard time memorizing.

    I started asking if they understood what the verse meant, and when they said no, I explained it; along with what the more difficult words meant. Immediately it became easier for them to memorize the verse.

    I have asked the same question as Jill: Why have them memorize a bunch of words, if they do not understand the meaning of those words?

    I have also discovered that if, along with the explantation, you try to instill in them the love of God that is behind the words, then the message goes that much deeper.

    1. Drusilla – We also had AWANA’s at our church. You would be just a perfect AWANA leader – imparting heart truths to those little hearts. God bless you,
      ~ Debbie

    1. lambskinny – Oh, me too! I’ve often been told that you shouldn’t go to church to get but to give. I think both attitudes miss the point. I think we go to find Him and know Him and share Him.
      ~ Debbie

  5. this one made me really have to think about my religious education. Thanks for making me use my brain over education. Love you

  6. Moving faith from head to heart. I truly love that. I know many people who can quote the whole bible but live the life of satan. I can never figure out who they think they are fooling?? Our daughters attended a private Christian School during their elementary years. They were expected to memorize long passages in the Bible every week. My question was why memorize without explaining the meaning of the passage? I was told it would all come together as they got older. Very strict and very rigid. A very small box. Only after they were pulled out and put in the world where everything is not all black and white and could look into their heart and the heart of of other people did they find true faith. They found out that God was love – not someone to fear. I am sorry – I know this is way off topic but it is what was in my heart this morning. .

    1. Jill – I think your comment is precisely on topic. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I’m so glad your daughters grew up to know that God loves them. It doesn’t surprise me, considering the wise, tender woman who raised them. It means a lot to me that you took the time to write and share your heart. Thank you,
      ~ Debbie

  7. Sadly true for too many of us. I can appreciate my foundation and see that’s what allows me to finally! grow in a deeper way that is relational. I’m with you here-all the way.

    1. Debby – For too long, I could only see hurt in the intellectual stoicism of my church, unable to be simply grateful for the firm foundation that was laid there.
      Where I went with what I was taught, was my responsibility, not the responsibility ‘the church’. Now is my time of beholding and wonderment.
      It’s quite a view! 😀
      ~ Debbie

      1. Debbie– For me, having the head knowledge of systematic theology and Biblical texts keeps me grounded in Truth. Like you, I’m grateful for that. One wise woman told me I needed to find a way to move my faith from my head to my heart. I love that! AA has shown me just how to begin doing that. ‘Faith without works is dead’ Even Satan can quote the Word, but look at his fruit…

      2. Heidi – Head to Heart – Amen! And such a great point – the Enemy can quote Bible verses better than any other and look where that got him. It went to his head and missed his heart altogether!
        ~ Debbie

    1. MT – I’m a slow learner, but He’s a patient Father. Thanks for adding your thoughts. There’s a kinship in sojourning together for me that’s forged by you who share your heart. Thank you,
      ~ Debbie

  8. Debbie. This helps. I realized reading this that my mom gave me my faith. In the Catholic church we did not read the bible; Mass was a mystical experience of God working in your life. That transformed me. I read the bible ( and countless books about the bible) when I was 14. I think without the mysticism, the Word would have been lost on me. I am grateful for this. You gave me that gift just this moment! Thank you AGAIN! (Vatican 2 kind of messed things up; Latin Mass rocks!). Peace, jen

    1. Jen – I recently had a friend write that mysticism scares her a little. I think those of us who grew up without it are blessed to grow into it.
      What ever way He enters, it is certainly God working in our lives that transforms us. In the midst of difficult reflections, how like Him to highlight one that was a gift!
      Pax tecum (is that right, Jen?)
      ~ Debbie

  9. This rocks Debbie! Abso-freakin’ lutely! Books, verses, chapters, philosophies … all make us “smarter” … but for me, this gal’s opinion … being smarter is what i equate with my ego-strength (or lack thereof). I feel smarter than others … therefore i’m smart. Anyway … the most valuable and enriching lessons i’ve learned, by far, are from LIVING in the real world … interacting with others … being out there … feeling the bumps and bruises … growing and changing. Thanks for sharing. Hey, and you’re smart! peace, mel

    1. Mel – Your absolute enthusiasm always makes me smile! I’d hoped to be a lot smarter than I am by now – but I’m not dead yet, so there’s still plenty of beholding time ahead. 😀
      When your comment popped up, I was just reading about how pearls are the only precious gem formed out of pain. I think you’re pearly,
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

