A Sunday Song – Blessings

Blessings ~ Laura Story

We pray for blessings, we pray for peace
Comfort for family, protection while we sleep
We pray for healing, for prosperity
We pray for Your mighty hand to ease our suffering

All the while You hear each spoken need
Yet love is way too much to give us lesser things

‘Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears?
What if a thousand sleepless nights
Are what it takes to know You’re near?

What if trials of this life
Are Your mercies in disguise?

We pray for wisdom, Your voice to hear
We cry in anger when we cannot feel You near
We doubt Your goodness, we doubt Your love
As if every promise from Your Word is not enough

And all the while You hear each desperate plea
And long that we’d have faith to believe

‘Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears?
And what if a thousand sleepless nights
Are what it takes to know You’re near?

And what if trials of this life
Are Your mercies in disguise?

When friends betray us, when darkness seems to win
We know that pain reminds this heart
That this is not, this is not our home
It’s not our home

‘Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears?
And what if a thousand sleepless nights
Are what it takes to know You’re near?

What if my greatest disappointments
Or the aching of this life
Is the revealing of a greater thirst
This world can’t satisfy?

And what if trials of this life
The rain, the storms, the hardest nights
Are Your mercies in disguise?

Sometimes we see most clearly through our tears. This Sunday song is both a prayer and a promise to the brokenhearted.

What if He knows something we don’t?

~

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

13 thoughts on “A Sunday Song – Blessings”

    1. Jill – Oh my gosh, as understated as that is, I don’t always live like I know that! I can be short sighted and narrow in my vision. Hopefully, prayerfully, more and more, He’ll increase and I’ll decrease both in my own estimation and in my focus. Thank you, friend, for being there – and here!
      ~ Debbie

  1. ‘And what if trials of this life
    The rain, the storms, the hardest nights
    Are Your mercies in disguise?’

    I think this is THE key to Gods love. Thank you for a beautiful post that reminds me that God hath not always promised skies always blue and that the storms are part of the plan. His Will not mine be done….

    Love Jen

  2. I love your Sunday morning, well, CHURCH, for me. Yes, yes, yes … i am a doubter, but not in a Higher Power. Maybe i’m not a doubter! There is still a slight resistance to structures of formal religion and interpretations of the bible. To me it’s open to so many interpretations which has brought me to my own God, my HP.

    It’s true, i DON’T know what is “pure”: We’re surrounded by humanity. I participate in life. I know i am not perfect … but i believe enough in HP that He will guide me toward the good, kind, loving, understanding and forgiving — to be open. To NOT be greedy, jealous, bitchy … all that nasty stuff.

    I do believe: And i accept today that my journey, through all the sorrow and pain has created an opportunity for a completely different track: With empathy and love for those who are suffering.

    I do believe i believe … in my way …

    The healing warrior heart,

    melis

    1. melis – dear one – the kingdom is full of doubters! As you keep seeking, I have no doubt you’ll find. Thank you for coming to church we me. It’s my honor to share your pew.
      ~ Debbie

  3. I meant to share as well a thought I read from an Alanon book that was a gift from God to me

    ” The pain is not in the surrender and acceptance. It’s in the resistance.”

    How often I resist the truth out of fear. I’ve done that for a very long time. I’ve been on a path of seeing the truth but how I’ve not truly seen it about myself until yesterday.

    Its like looking at the aftermath of a tornado only 35 years of it. Deeply humbled. And now I can say to many, youre right. The resistance is
    gone.
    Wow now I see the magnitude of God’s grace.

    1. Cath – Hearing your news yesterday is one of the most wonderful things ever! My heart has been rejoicing with you and over you for the past 24 hours! What a gift! What a joy! What Love and Grace! The view is stunning when the veil is lifted, isn’t it?
      And such a powerful statement:
      “The pain in not in the surrender and acceptance. It’s in the resistance.”
      So true and a great reminder for me!
      You are a treasure, dear heart –
      ~ Debbie

  4. God gave me this song in the recent past. I can’t get enough of it because it says so much.

    It is so true.

    God is a giver of “good” things and sometimes the wrapping is different.

    Did you notice the curve of the branch holding the raindrop is the shape of our eyelids partially closed with a tear? I’m probably the slow one.

    Thanks Debbie

    Love Cath

    1. Cath – Actually, I hadn’t noticed that. You’re right! I’ll have to mention that to Kari – I wonder if she was thinking that when she took the shot?
      So well put – He is the giver of GOOD things – we just don’t always like the wrapping.
      Love to you, my friend,
      ~ Debbie

    1. Debby – Once again, thank you for singing with me on Sundays. I’m not usually a what if person since it generally seems to assume the worst, but in this song, it’s very different, isn’t it?
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

