Fluff

Let me, if I may, be ever welcomed to my room in winter by a glowing hearth, in summer by a vase of flowers. If I may not, let me think how nice they would be and bury myself in my work. I do not think that the road to contentment lies in despising what we have not got. Let us acknowledge all good, all delight that the world holds, and be content without it.                                      ~ George MacDonald

A short story.

One day, a few days back, my friend called her friend and said: I seem to have lost my serenity. He said: You were so happy and peaceful just a couple of weeks ago. What’s changed?

She said: Nothing. I’m still very happy and everything is going well, but I’ve lost my serenity. Her wise friend asked a few more questions, all of which she was able to answer with a positive. Yes she was eating right, sleeping well, working and praying and serving.

Finally her friend said: Where’s your fluff? He was asking her what she did just for fun. Nothing accomplished, nothing checked off the list, time spent with ‘nothing to show for it’. It turns out, she didn’t have any fluff.

My friend spent a couple of afternoons reading and found her serenity again.

I looked up fluff, just to make sure I had it right. In addition to describing baby bird feathers, it means to shake something so that more air goes into it and it becomes larger and softer  ~Macmillan On-line Dictionary.

I thought about that. I couldn’t find the Bible verse that said Thou shalt accomplish a lot today, but I did find the one that said A joyful heart is good medicine, but a broken spirit dries up the bones. – Proverbs 17:22

I checked my bones. They were feeling a little dry. I’ve decided my heart needs to be shaken a little to make it larger and softer. George MacDonald and Lilith are waiting for me.

The End

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

24 thoughts on “Fluff”

  1. THIS explains the ache in my joints! I need Fluff. First I better I figure out what IS my fluff???

    I am kinda in the Heidi camp: lists and more lists and books and more books. A sponsor once suggested I watch some mindless TV to get some Fluff going. Maybe it is time to revisit that idea. Maybe ease into the History channel and take notes.

    Did I trade the Bottle for a List? Hmmm. Very simple and thought provoking post. Thank you. I think I will make a list of things that might be fluff able and then prioritize them. OK Courage to change the things I can…

    Courage to choose some fluff… darn achy bones! xxx Jen

    1. Peter – Have you read much MacDonald? He had quite a fantastic imagination. I’m behind on crossing the pond. I’ll see you after my egg and toast. 😀
      ~ Debbie

  2. Fluff sounds so much like frou-frou that I almost disregarded the advice. If I remember right, Debbie, you’re the one who said he was right. I’m driven and a list-maker, so I needed to gain some balance.

    As an aside, I’m on my 4th book in two weeks. I assume I could go overboard here… Why is balance so hard for some of us?

    PS: The ‘accomplish a lot today’ verse is in there..still looking for it.

  3. Isn’t this the truth! But, why then, do we need to be reminded how essential “fluff” is? My favorites are still reading and knitting/crocheting but a few weeks ago we did a family hike and hit a few antique shops. That afternoon was a total blessing!
    –SueBE

    1. SueBE – Why do we need to be reminded? Such a good question. I’ve fluffed for two days. There’s a post on guilt kicking around in my head, even during sweet times.
      Wish you were here (or I were there) so you could give me knitting lessons. I just knit long rows of nothing. Really, how many scarves does a person need in Texas and they’re a little too odd for gifts. 😉
      ~ Debbie

  4. Perfect! I loved this, Debbie! We all need a little fluff — something to shake up our lives adding air — space to breathe, room for light and love and joy — the fluff and stuff of “larger, softer,” deeper lives. Ahhh…

    1. Drusilla – Well, I’ve made it to chapter XXVI – I’m a slow reader. 😀
      And then on to At the Back of the North Wind! Yes!
      Wow – a reader after my own heart!
      ~ Debbie
      I have to admit, my daughter had been encouraging me to read Lilith forever – I don’t know what took me so long to get here, but it’s been a grand adventure!

  5. I’m going for a little fluff this weekend myself! Such good words you give us. I think grace must be like fluff because it is surely larger and softer.

    1. Debby – My friend in grace – you so deserve some fluff after much heartache. I’m praying for a weekend that ministers to your weary bones.
      ~ Debbie

  6. I like it! FLUFF it is! True enough! We’re also human beings … there can be too much “human doings” in the world and in our lives. Oh, go ahead and say it Debbie, life stinks sometimes … 😉

    I hope you achieve some fluff today!

Leave a Reply

