A Sunday Song – Anyway

Anyway ~ Martina McBride

You can spend your whole life buildin’
Somethin’ from nothin’
One storm can come and blow it all away
Build it anyway

You can chase a dream
That seems so out of reach
And you know it might not ever come your way
Dream it anyway

God is great, but sometimes life ain’t good
When I pray it doesn’t always turn out like I think it should
But I do it anyway
I do it anyway

This world’s gone crazy and it’s hard to believe
That tomorrow will be better than today
Believe it anyway
You can love someone with all your heart
For all the right reasons
And in a moment they can choose to walk away
love ’em anyway

You can pour your soul out singing
A song you believe in
That tomorrow they’ll forget you ever sang
Sing it anyway
Yeah, sing it anyway
I sing, I dream, I love
Anyway

I’m taking a detour today from sharing a hymn I learned years ago, to a lesson I learned and continue to learn. When I first started this blog back in June, I wrote a post called All I Need to Know. It was about the basic beliefs that sustain me. This has been a particularly hard week for several who read this. As I’ve prayed for you, I’ve thought about how you faithfully continue on in spite of the storms and shattered dreams.

God is great, but sometimes life ain’t good. When I pray it doesn’t always turn out like I think it should. But I do it anyway. This only makes sense to me if God is good, and loving and right. If I believe that, I can build and pray and sing and dream and love, anyway.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

15 thoughts on “A Sunday Song – Anyway”

  1. Thanks for your detour . . . I’m in tears.
    God bless you, dear Debbie. You mentioned that this blog is suppose to mostly be about other people’s words . . . but it keeps being your words that touch me here.

    1. Debbie – I first tracked you down from your comments on jelillie’s blog and I’m so glad. What a gentle, tender heart you have! Thank you for gracing me with it.
      Debbie, too

  2. I have a lot of questions for God one day.

    But for today, I accept that outcomes of life and my relationship with God are non-linear. Or perhaps they are linear in a way I have not yet discovered.

    I spent many years in church cultures that insisted that God and interactions with him were linear…. meaning do THIS to receieve THAT outcome. And every time you do THIS, THAT will happen. But if you don’t see THAT, then it can only mean you haven’t been doing THIS properly.

    What a lot of guilt I felt. Now I fully believe that those teaching this theology were well-meaning and had been having a linear experience that they wished to share. But I wasn’t having one.

    Which did not mean I had to resent them or God. It just meant that I had to keep searching and learning.

    Ciao.

    Chaz

    1. Chaz – I’m a masterful guilt gather. I spent most of my adult life in a linear church culture. I kept doing until I did myself in and caused harm and hurt instead of grace to others. I found the letter and lost the heart.
      As you so graciously say, I believe those around me were well intended and that it was a spiritual approach that worked for them.I had to be out of that environment for a number of years before I could look at it as good for others,if not for me.
      When we quit searching, I believe we begin to lose our way. Thank you for your thoughtful and insightful comments.
      ~ Debbie

  3. No one can be on top of the game all the time. Not while going through their earthly life. No one can wear a smile all the time. Terrible things happen to good people. There will always be people in the background who try their hardest to drag us down for one reason or another. The key is to keep them in the background!

    When we trod through our trials is our true faith is tested. It is easy to love with an open heart, do the right things and live our faith during the easy times. It is through the tough times that God has to carry us instead of walking beside us.

    I truly believe the above is true. So my vote is for all of us to do the best we can do and we will make it with a lot of help from our Lord. When we feel we can’t do it anymore – do it anyway.

    1. Oh Jill – you have a wise and tender heart! I love your background concept. How easy it is to put in the foreground the people and even our own thoughts that keep us from being who He intended. You’re right, it’s at that point when we don’t think we can do it one more day or one more moment, that we most need God’s help to do it anyway.
      ~ Debbie

  4. OK … when i reread my comments i think wtf.

    If you do this consistently i believe love comes back to you — IN ITS OWN TIME and SOMEtimes 2-fold. As if … i can write. Still sleepy. mel

  5. You rock! Please keep writing. I understand the “no traffic” issues.

    I love the sentiment of your post … do it anyway. Love anyway.

    If you do this consistently i believe love comes back to you … it its own time, and times 2 fold.

    Happy Sunday. Peace, mel

    1. mel – We’ll just keep on writing and healing and loving – anyway – together. You were one of those on my heart as I chose this song. Praying for your peace.
      ~Debbie

  6. There are days in blogging when I wonder why I bother, but then I get just one encouraging email or comment and I try to discern whether I should be spending so much time on this venture and so far the answer is ‘do it anyway’. Thanks for the video.

    1. Heidi – It’s a lot like your “just do the next right thing”, isn’t it? We so often can’t see that whatever it is that we’re doing is making any difference, but we just do it – anyway – and trust God for the results.
      I love Martina McBride – it was kind of an odd Sunday song, but thanks for liking it with me. πŸ™‚
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

