Be Still

God alone is capable of making Himself known as He really is. We search in reasoning and in sciences, as in a poor copy. What we neglect to see is God’s painting Himself in the depth of our soul.                      ~ brother Lawrence

My friend, Kari, took this beautiful photo and it seemed to me just the right note to wrap up these few posts about practicing the presence of God.

I’d written another 300 words on being still. Then I realized I’d rather missed the point. God had already conveyed the entire message.

Be still and know that I am God.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

29 thoughts on “Be Still”

  1. Beautiful picture. And that line, “I’d written another 300 words on being still. Then I realized I’d rather missed the point. God had already conveyed the entire message.” That was awesome! Very good! We could all better to learn be still.

    1. Jeff – Thanks friend. There’s a good reason that I’ve limited myself to 2 minutes for all my post. Still isn’t my most natural position. 🙂
      ~ Debbie

  2. I am smiling and learning from the lesson here! Love the picture too!!!
    God bless you as you are still before Him today, and know His love for you!
    the other deb

    1. Deb –
      I have quite a ways to go on this lesson – but I finally have the ‘heart’ for it. I didn’t used to know I was missing anything!
      You are a joy!
      Debbie

  3. God is Painting in the depth’s of our souls

    Thank you – that touched my heart this morning

    Be stil and know is one of my favorite verses

    Prayers for your day

    1. Jeanne – And not surprisingly, if you were to ask all who know me to describe me, not one person would use the word ‘quiet’. 😀
      I’m learning.
      ~ Debbie

  4. Beautiful picture, perfect with those few words, Be still and know that I am God. Too often it is hard for me to reach that place of stillness. Too many things pile up and bury me, too many outside things pull at me, not letting me get there. But, praise God, it is getting better and I know He is there waiting for me.

    Today’s post is for you. http://drusillamott.wordpress.com/

    1. mel – Kari is taking a photo a day this year and has kindly given me permission to use them. It will always say photo by Kari Box if she took it.
      I thought this one was extraordinary – an entire message in itself.
      ~ Debbie

  5. Silence is golden. He is every where but when we are silent he shows himself. He is not pushy or glaring. He waits patiently for us. Isn’t it sad we don’t have the patience to wait for him?

Leave a Reply

