A Sunday Song ~ ‘Tis So Sweet

‘Tis So Sweet To Trust in Jesus                                       Louisa Stead (1882)

‘Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus,
Just to take Him at His word;
Just to rest upon His promise,
Just to know “Thus saith the Lord”

Jesus, Jesus, how I trust Him!
How I’ve proved Him o’er and o’er!
Jesus, Jesus, precious Jesus!
O for grace to trust Him more!

O how sweet to trust in Jesus,
Just to trust His cleansing blood;
Just in simple faith to plunge me
Neath the healing, cleansing flood!

Yes, ’tis sweet to trust in Jesus,
Just from sin and self to cease;
Just from Jesus simply taking
Life and rest, and joy and peace.

I’m so glad I learned to trust Him,
Precious Jesus, saviour, friend;
And I know that He is with me,
Will be with me to the end.

Louisa Stead felt called to be a missionary when she was a teenager. Her passion to share the Good News grew as she grew. She was all set to go to China when her health became too fragile for the trip.

She was heartbroken. She met and married a kind and loving man. One beautiful afternoon on the coast of Long Island, they were picnicking with their 4-year-old daughter, Lily, when Louisa’s husband looked up to see someone thrashing about in the water. He dashed into the ocean to save the life of another. The child was saved but he drowned.

In the midst of great sorrow, Louisa set out with Lily for the mission field, this time to South Africa. It was in there that she wrote:‘Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus.

Because someone was drowning, her husband gave his life. Because we’re all drowning, Jesus gave His.

How I’ve proved Him o’er and o’er! God proved His love. But how do we prove Him?

Trust.

I’m so glad I learned to trust Thee, Precious Jesus, Savior, Friend; And I know that Thou art with me, Wilt be with me to the end.

Louisa Stead knew this because she found trusting Jesus to be sweet even when life was bitter.

Oh for grace to trust Him more.

My internet is popping on and off. I’ve been trying to find a window of ‘connectivity’ for hours. Hopefully, this Sunday Song will show up sometime Monday or Tuesday!

Thank you, kind friends for your words of love and prayers. I’m weak of signal, but not weak of heart. This old hymn has been refurbishing me for days. Life and rest and joy and peace. 😀

I’ll catchup with you whenever the airwaves allow.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

17 thoughts on “A Sunday Song ~ ‘Tis So Sweet”

  1. Greetings from Wordwise Hymns. There’s a bit more to the background of the hymn that’s relevant to its meaning. I’ve posted an article on it today, on my site. Take a look if you have a moment. God bless.

  2. I love the old hymn, and that is a beautiful, but tragic, story. So many great hymns have come from circumstances like this…one in particular, my favorite hymn, “It Is Well With My Soul.”

    1. Jeff – Hello friend! As C.S.Lewis says, pain is God’s megaphone. I like it better when He whispers, but it’s ALL good. I wrote a Sunday Song about It Is Well With My Soul a month ago, because, like you, it’s my very favorite! 😀
      Would love to sing it with you! You just never know, do you? Here we are in the same state – anything could happen!
      ~ Debbie

  3. As Melissa said, above, I must agree: perfect timing. God knows when your posts need to arrive, Dear Debbie. Never forget that and–trust Him more. Our times are in His hands! He is ever, always, good.

  4. YAY! Lovely … yes, i recieved your blessing today … not a minute too early, too late. Great timing.

    Ah the cynic in me … saying … if only i could take the plunge. Higher Power is the best i can do … and yet it’s not 100% comforting … slightly comforting only in the sense that i’m not “steering the car” all the time … i should let go a little.

    I’m making my way toward traditional Faith i believe. I need faith … i know that everything will be OK … that i can’t MAKE it ok … it will be if i keep reaching out and having an open mind.

    melis

    1. dearest melis – I read a series of books by Ted Dekker years ago and the one concept that I particularly remember was “Dive Deep”. The people that dove deep thought they might drown, but they took the chance because, really, they were drowning anyway. In diving deep the found His to be everything He promised to be. I pray (daily) that you’ll find Him to be everything He promises to be for you! 😀
      You’re right, none of us can make it OK ourselves, Your tender heart is so open, I think you’re going to find more.That’s my prayer. It’s time for you to be carried for a while – you’ve had to carry yourself for so very long…
      ~Debbie

  5. hi debbie, oh for grace to trust him more. i am so careful when i say this now…i am praying for you, especially in your isolation. love, gaye

    1. Debby – I’ve started doing a bit of research on some of the old hymns that I post – wondering about those who penned them. Many of the stories I knew before, but this one I didn’t. Grace to trust Him more. That’s our hearts desire, isn’t it, my friend?
      ~ Debbie

  6. This is such a precious post about our Precious Jesus. Thank you, dearest Debbie! And thank you for sharing the story of Louisa Stead. She not only wrote the song but lived it. You are living a life of trusting Him too! God bless you as you trust Him more and help us to too!

Leave a Reply

