Friendship

 

Friendship arises out of mere Companionship when two or more of the companions discover that they have in common some insight or interest or even taste which the other do not share and which, till that moment, each believed to be his own unique treasure (or burden). The typical expression of opening Friendship would something like, “What? You too? I thought I was the only one.”… In this kind of love, as Emerson said, “Do you love me?” means “Do you see the same truth?” – Or at least, “Do you care about the same truth?” The man who agrees with us that some question, little regarded by others, is of great importance can be our Friend. He need not agree with us about the answer. ~ C.S. Lewis



I’m off for a short holiday and then it’s back to the unemployment line as this temp job ends today. I likely won’t have any computer access for the next week or so. I was going to post a Monday song – but the internet won’t allow it today.

With Thanksgiving just a few days away, I wish you a rich and sweet time of celebration. My heart is full of gratitude for so many things. But these two minutes are where I share my gratitude for you. Jack had it right again, didn’t he? We may not always agree on the answers, but we’re here, asking many of the same questions, caring about the same truth.

You who read and write and share your hearts here and on your own blogs are like coruscating jewels – giving light and sparkle to life – to my life.

I pray for safety for your travels; for moments of gratitude for the gifts; and for grace for the hardships that may come your way. You are a daily blessing in my life and I thank you.


Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

24 thoughts on “Friendship”

  1. What Debby said!! Cafe Dumond and their chickoy coffee and Beignets! YES Ma’am! I am grateful for you and your Heart. good luck with the job search. I think beignets will help with that and cheap too! XXX Jen

    1. Dearest Jen –
      Cafe Dumond was always packed (we went on The Bayou Classic weekend) but we did have some wonderful beignets – missed out on the chickoy coffee though… :/
      ~ Debbie
      In the future, I’ll post my travel plans further in advance so I profit from all my friend’s wonderful tips! 😀

  2. I have been bumped again … i’ll try to catch up … so sorry. It looks like i’m following. I’ve clicked on all the “join” buttons i can. Happy Thanks giving. xoxoox melis

  3. Well, Debbie, that was the most beautiful thing to read today. Thank you. Thank you for giving us our 2 minutes of grace and so much more. Your words are soaked in Him and so it all multiplies into a feast for us. Praying for you a likewise feast in His presence with His faithful provision for you in the days ahead.
    love and prayers!
    the other deb

  4. Thank you, good friend, and right back at you. God bless you and may the peace of God that goes beyond all human understanding comfort and strengthen you through the Holiday!

  5. New Orleans? Haven’t spent much of my adult life there but lived there a few years a long time ago. One of my parents SA appointments and my brother was born there. Skip the alligator and get to Cafe Dumond for the beneigs (I can say and eat them but no idea how to spell it!). Have a good bowl of gumbo too. I know you’re going to enjoy your time and look forward to hearing about it and maybe seeing some pictures. Traveling mercies 🙂 to you.

    1. Dear Debby –
      You wouldn’t have believed the lines at Cafe Dumond – but happily we did find some wonderful warm beignits just around the corner from our Hotel! 😀
      ~ Debbie

  6. Will be (am right now) praying for God’s leading and blessings for this next phase of your life. Have a blessed Thanksgiving. Thank you for all of your encouragment and for your friendship through this blogging journey we have all started.

    1. Dear Linda –
      All of your warm wishes came true. I so look forward to catching up with you. My internet is spotty at best – but when it’s spot on, I’ll be visiting!
      ~Debbie

  7. You, writing friend, are a sweet blessing! Wishing you a wonderful Thanksgiving. I’ll be praying for you as you begin the job search again after your short holiday. May God graciously provide for you through the hands and feet of His Children til you find your next step on this journey. Blessings!

    1. Dearest Cindee – Thank you for your kind words and promised prayers. Unemployment only lasted for a week, which was a wonderful gift.
      I wish we could share a cup of coffee sometime. 😀
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

