A Sunday Song – I Need a Silent Night

I Need A Silent Night Lyrics by Amy Grant and Chris Eaton

I made this same mistake before
Too many malls, too many stores
December traffic
Christmas rush
It breaks me till I push and shove
Children are crying
While mother’s are trying
To photograph Santa and sleigh
The shopping and buying and standing forever in line
Well what can I say

I need a silent night
A holy night
To hear an angel voice
through the chaos and the noise
I need a midnight clear
A little peace right here
To end this crazy day
With a Silent Night

December comes, then disappears
Faster and faster every year
Did my own mother keep this pace
Or was the world a different place?
When people stay home wishin’ for snow
Watching 3 channels on their TV
Look at us now rushin’ around
Tryin’ to buy Christmas peace

I need a silent night
A holy night
To hear an angel voice
through the chaos and the noise
I need a midnight clear
A little peace right here
To end this crazy day
With a Silent Night

What was it like back there in Bethlehem
With peace on earth, good will toward men?

There were shepherds out in the field
keeping watch over their flock by night
And the glory of the Lord shown around them
and they were sore afraid
And the angel said “Fear not
for behold I bring you good news of great joy
That shall be for all people
for unto you
is Born this day a Savior
who is Christ the Lord
And His name shall called
Wonderful Counselor
Prince of Peace”

I need a silent night
A holy night
To hear an angel voice
Through the chaos and the noise
I need a midnight clear
A little peace right here
To end this crazy day
With a Silent Night

To end this crazy day
With a Silent Night

In a year with not one but two Super Saturday’s, may we all find some silent nights and midnights clear – so that we can hear.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

12 thoughts on “A Sunday Song – I Need a Silent Night”

  1. Amen Amy. I saw her in concert in A South Suburb of Boston: Can’t remember the Arena. LONG ago.

    That pretty much sums up Christmas madness vs. Christmas the way it was told to us a long time ago. I remember the baby Jesus story as a child, but when i got my first Chrissy doll, with the hair that pulls out of the scalp, all bets were off! More toys.

    I long for silent nights … and thank you for reminding me, i will have tea and silent Monday Tuesday and Wednesday. Madness takes over on Thursday … but i’ll keep the Notion in my heart and head to calm the frenetics. xoxoxo melis

    1. Oh Jen – you’re back! My heart made a little jump when your name popped up. You’ve been on my heart and in my prayers dozens of times each day.
      I pray for true peace for you, my friend,
      ~ Debbie

  2. They’ve been playing 100% Christmas music on the local Christian radio station, and this one by Amy Grant is one of the songs we get to hear. 🙂 Praying for us all some silent nights, holy nights too . . .so we can hear Him. Thank you, Debbie, for helping block out some of the noise for me. With such a wonderful blogging community, I’ve found that I’m able to focus more and more on Him. And I just love that!
    Will you be okay this Christmas? God bless you and the grace you bring to us.
    love, the other deb

    1. Debbie – Thank you, yes, I’ll be OK this Christmas, but it was kind of you to ask. I’ll sleep most of Christmas Day and then work all evening and night – the nature of the job. Christmas has, in these past few years, become a celebration of the heart for me.
      God bless you, too, with many wonderful nights – some silent and some not so silent! 😉
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

