Old Long Since

Remember, no man is a failure who has friends!  ~Clarence Oddbody, AS2

~

~

We sing it (or hear it) around this time every year. Auld Lang Syne. How funny that we so heartily join in singing a song that we can’t even translate. The meaning was near to the heart of the Scottish poet Robert Burns who penned – or he would say reworded  – the words, over 200 years ago.

Should old acquaintance be forgot, and never brought to mind ? Should old acquaintance be forgot, and old lang syne? For auld lang syne, my dear, for auld lang syne, we’ll take a cup of kindness yet, for auld lang syne.

Although there are several more verses, most of us can’t sing beyond the first 40 words, a third of which are in Old Scotts. The individual words mean old long since, which, today we would probably render for old time’s sake.

So, for old time’s sake, as we’re busy evaluating the past year and setting goals for the new one, we remember. Our lives have been touched by many. Altered this past year by the new the friends we’ve made, and changed by death and by distance.

For auld lang syne, in tribute, in memory of old acquaintances held dear, and in gratitude for the new we share, lets take a cup of kindness. I think Clarence Oddbody, AS2 had it so very right. No one is a failure who has friends.


Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

22 thoughts on “Old Long Since”

  1. That is how I’m feeling these days–rich and successful, for new friends of joy. Thanks, sister–God bless you today!

    1. Caddo – hello my friend! I lost my internet last night before I could talk to you last night. 😉 You are a gift of the new year to me! Thank you for that – really!
      ~ Debbie

  2. Here’s a cup to my new friend who has been such a tremendous help to me while I get started into the night world of gate guarding. Thank you so much for your help and support Debbie. BTW… It’s a Wonderful Life is my favorite movie of all times!

    1. Hello Vicky!
      It’s been my privilege and how fun to see you here! This certainly isn’t much like my Fork blog, but if you roll them together, I expect you getting a more complete picture of me. 😀
      It’s a Wonderful Life is my second favorite movie of all time, Harvey beats it just by a hare. 😉
      ~ Debbie

  3. I thought this was just beautiful, Debbie, to think of all the people who have impacted me throughout the year. I’ve been so blessed. It seems when people have to leave my life, that He is so good at bringing someone else in. God bless you, dear Debbie, and all the ways He uses you to impact others this year, for His good!
    the other deb

    1. Dearest ‘other Deb’ – I’m a most reluctant blogger with no aspirations to be a writer ( which is a good thing since I can’t even manage to proofread 300 words). 😉
      My unusual circumstances drove me to write Fork. I touched on ‘religion’ there and came a bit under fire, so I started a TMG as a place to try to do more than entertain, a place to share a bit of my heart. The last thing I ever expected was to form friendships. You’re so right. He is very, very good at bringing into our lives, those we need, often is the most unusual ways. 😀 This past year, as I miss my family and friends, God has filled my life with remarkable, diverse,fascinating people. I’m absolutely floored! You are certainly one of those unexpected gifts! Thank you,
      ~ Debbie

  4. How do you keep churning these wonderfully appropriate works out Debbie? Like so many others, I anticipate roaming through here, knowing my life’s going to impacted by your grace-saturated wisdom. So… “as I turned to make my way back home, the snow turned into rain.” (This is where the horned instruments begin to play… thanks and God bless.)

    1. mt – It’s SO nice to have you back! 😀
      About the writing, thank you, but I don’t really do much here, do I? Those with kinder hearts and keener minds do it for me – I just tag along. 😉
      I’d completely forgotten about Dan Fogelberg’s song (you’re quick!). Such a sweet, sad, poetic look back. For me, there’s often some degree of sorrow in remembering what was, or in the missing of those I so loved. Drinking a cup of kindness helps lift those memories to a gentler place.
      Thanks for roaming with me, mt!
      ~ Debbie

  5. Coffee, here, otherwise, ditto Debby just above! 🙂
    Thanks for this. Always wondered, though I knew the word since early childhood and am not one drop Scot. 🙂
    For old times’ sake. Hmm. My life!
    Thanks, again.

  6. Is there a button I can click that just says “I like them all” because I do you know. Even before you’ve posted I know I will like your words, your sharing of grace. I’m raising my cup of Pepsi Max to you now 😉

    1. Dearest Debby – Did you know that you were the first person (that’s not related to me) to ever read this blog? I had a few initial subscribers that weren’t too keen on it and dropped it after a couple of weeks. 😉 But you’ve stayed with me all this time.
      As I look back on this past year, and particularly on the 7 months I’ve been writing Two Minutes of Grace, I’m so very grateful that God, in His great grace to me, brought us together!
      Thank you, dear friend.
      ~ Debbie

  7. Debbie, YOU ROCK! Absolutely thrilled to know the first 40 words, first of all. And second of all: I’m a SCOT (half) … and i cherish all things, songs, writings, writers, Scottish, Robert Burns included.

    Your interpretation of the song is heartfelt and perfect! Thank God for friends, and connections. Without them, we survive a bitter, lonely life. EBINEEZER!!! 😉 (sp)

    GET BIGGER HATS!!!!!! Head is blowing way up!!!! xoxx m

    1. Dear melis – LOL! I think it’s too late for the hats – I’m on the brink of implosion!
      I wrote a post a while back on Cheers (the fictional Boston Bar). I went there a few years ago, but all that’s there, of course, is the sign and the door – pure fiction. The point of the post was, as you just said, it can be bitter and lonely when we don’t really connect with each other. We all (or most all) want to be known by name – in a deeper, richer sense.
      Happy New Year, my new friend!
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

