Time to Fry Some Fish

Jesus is not only unafraid of what ails us; He has every intention of healing it. He does this by entering the place of our greatest shame and making it His home. He fights us tooth and nail to get to the very thing we most want to hide – our anguished, silent aloneness, our terrible fear of the darkness within us. Then, once He arrives at the deepest part of our darkness and shame, He unpacks His bags and sets up His tent. He makes a fire and fries some fish. He feeds us and talks to us. In the place of our deepest wounding, He give us words. ~ Victoria Brooks

In the dark early morning hours, every day of the week you can watch reruns of Tales from the Darkside. It’s kind of a cheesy version of The Twilight Zone. The predictable element in each episode of each series was the plot twist at the end. You’re probably familiar with the musical intro from The Twilight Zone. Tales from the Darkside started out with pictures of lovely scenery, interrupted by the foreboding voice of the narrator:

Man lives in the sunlit world of what he believes to be reality. But… there is, unseen by most, an underworld, a place that is just as real, but not as brightly lit… a Darkside.

It’s a bit of old-fashioned horror. We’reย  much more sophisticated than we were in 1959 and 1983 when these programs premiered. They don’t scare us anymore. We’ve all seen reality that’s much more frightening than fantasy.

While we may not be afraid of what’s on TV, there’s still a darkside that scares us. Long before the closing credits roll, He arrives at the deepest part of our darkness and shame, He unpacks His bags and sets up His tent.

And now comes the plot twist: no condemnation, no shame, no guilt. Instead, He feeds us and talks to us. In the place of our deepest wounding, He give us words.

I don’t know what’s on your menu, but here in my heart, it’s time to fry some fish.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

27 thoughts on “Time to Fry Some Fish”

      1. No I found you by accident! Pleased I did, I find that more Christian souls are finding each other now Debbie.
        The flock is gathering ๐Ÿ™‚

        Peace

        John

  1. I have heard about and watched the movie on the Elliot’s – very impacting. I felt the quote and your story was wonderful but sharing that part, even more impacting. Thank you Debbie!

    1. Judi โ€“ I first read Shadow of the Almighty when I was in college and later on, These Strange Ashes. I even had a quote of Jim Elliotโ€™s framed on my mantle:โ€He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose.โ€
      I canโ€™t describe my surprise to find my friend and facilitator in my Christ Life group knew the Elliotโ€™s.
      Thank you for reading all the way through the comments to find this. ๐Ÿ™‚
      ~ Debbie

  2. Wow wow wow, and wow–did I need this good word today! A glimpse of light to feel better by–thank you so much, sister!! May He richly bless your day BIG!

  3. I really liked the Victoria Brooks quote. Could u tell me the book you found it in? I’ve googled the name but there are several Victoria Brooks out there. Can you tell me a little more about her. This is very important to me. Her quote…and your observations…are very relevant to me personally.

    Thanks.

    1. Hello, Lew! The book is Delighting God:The Secret to Making the Father’s Heart Leap It was published by NavPress in 2003. I’m including an Amazon link (copies range from $.82 to $60.77). Vickie, who is not only the author, but also was a great friend to me at the most difficult time of my life. She would be appalled that someone is selling her book for $60.
      Vickie lives in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Are you familiar with Jim and Elisabeth Elliot and their story of ministering to the Auca tribe? As you may know, Jim was martyred there and Elizabeth returned to the small tribe; lived with them and loved them and led them to God. Vickie’s grandparents were missionary’s with the Elliots as were her parents. She lived there for the first 5 or 6 years of her life.
      I’m not sure what else you would like to know. I can tell you that she’s the real deal – humble and passionate and gentle. I’ve read the book several times and obviously, highly recommend it.
      If you click on her name under authors, you’ll find several other posts I’ve written based on her book from the very early days of this blog. I think the quotes will give you a feel for her heart and direction.
      Hope this is of some help, Lew.
      ~ Debbie
      http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1576833720/ref=olp_product_details?ie=UTF8&me=&seller=

  4. Oh how precious… HIs voice in the darkness. Not a place to remain just a place to camp…not a place to live just a place to heal before going on. I love this picture! Thanks Deb and thank you Jesus that you came into all my darkness unafraid!

  5. Debbie, for not having any ideas about being a writer . . .you use words so well for Him. This one grabbed me. Asked me to sit down with Him and not cringe, afraid of what He sees in me. It brings back memories of a time I asked Him what He wanted for me. I waited, expecting to hear to be a better wife, mom, daughter, everything, But instead He whispered to me that He wants me to be a song. Your post refreshes that to me, renews me, and makes me want to see what words He has to feed me with today, to take away the darkness. God bless you, dearest Deb, for sharing His grace with us.

    1. Susie – Don’t you think it must make the Father so sad that we fear fellowship with Him? Maybe because other’s are quick to condemn? Maybe because we’re afraid to forgive ourselves?
      ~ Debbie

  6. oh deb. if you only knew how these words encouraged me today. i have been such a poop since the beginning of this year. you are familiar with that poop. you know, the one who thinks she will never amou nt to anything. the one who is afraid all she will ever be is “a wife and a mother”. and a not good enough one at that. i love you so…

    1. Dearest Gaye – If I only I could gift you with unconditional love for yourself that you’ve given me. You know every dark thing there is to know about me (that I know) and still, you’ve loved me and accepted me and continue to love me. Your love and grace were key to opening my heart to accept the grace of the One who builds the fire and fries the fish, and gives us words in the place of our deepest wounding.
      I love you, always,
      Debbie

    1. dear melis – I used to find it a little terrifying to think that “He fights us tooth and nail to get to the very thing we most want to hide โ€“ our anguished, silent aloneness, our terrible fear of the darkness within us”. Now, that tent brings rest.
      ~ Debbie

  7. And the conversations that took place over those simple meals were life changing. It was and is communion. You’ve started my day off with thoughts of peace and love. Thank you.

    1. Debby – I think that’s exactly what this fish fry is – communion. I’ll write a radical post on that someday when I’m feeling bold. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      ~ Debbie

  8. Some of us are very damaged beings; very shame-based and guilt-ridden. I know that I have a dark side to my personality which, thank God, I never unleashed. It has remained dormant, but it is there within me. How good to know that Christ would set up camp there, for the purpose of releasing me from that grip, from the hand of darkness, and thereby making it impossible ever to act on those old wounds which are now healed and extinguished.

    1. Aunt Melanie – Thank you for your open heart. Without a doubt, we all have a dark side and if we don’t think so, I’m confident that it will one day it will blindside us.
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

