A Sunday Song – Go Rest High

Go Rest High Upon That Mountain ~ Vince Gill

I know your life
On earth was troubled
And only you could know the pain
You weren’t afraid to face the devil
You were no stranger to the rain

Go rest high on that mountain
‘Cause, Son, your work on earth is done
Go to Heaven a shoutin’
Love for the Father and the Son

Oh, how we cried the day you left us
And gathered round your grave to grieve
Wish I could see the angels’ faces
When they hear your sweet voice sing

Go rest high on that mountain
‘Cause, Son, your work on earth is done
Go to Heaven a shoutin’
Love for the Father and the Son

Vince Gill began writing this song following the death of his friend, Keith Whitley. Whitley’s country music career lasted 5 years. In that short time, he had 19 number one songs. You may know some of them: Don’t Close Your Eyes; I’m No Stranger to the Rain; You say it Best When You Say Nothing At All.

Whitley’s brilliant career and the the lives of his family were shattered when he died at age 33 of acute alcohol poisoning. Gill set the song aside for a time. He finished writing Go Rest High On That Mountain a few years later after his brother died of a heart attack.

I chose this song this week specifically to honor my friend, Jen, whose mother recently died of Wernicke-Korsakoff Syndrome. Jen writes a beautifully honest blog about the far reaching ramifications of alcoholism. You’ll find her at step on a crack … or break your mother’s back under the 5 Star posts.

This is also a gentle tribute for all of us who are remembering ones who have gone high on that mountain.

My friend, Caddo Veil, has written a beautiful Haiku that is so appropriate here. I’ve added it as another 5 Star post.

~

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

17 thoughts on “A Sunday Song – Go Rest High”

  1. Dear Debbie,

    I am pulled together now… mostly.

    I can never thank you enough. I learned an awful lot today about Surrender and turning back to my God. You forced my hand and I will be eternally grateful.

    I ..

    I am a very very lucky Woman.

    Bless you you Angel on Earth.

    Love, Jen

    1. Dearest Jen – When you crawl out on a branch, I think you’re less likely to break your leg than you are to hurt the tree. I prayed I wouldn’t hurt the tree. I didn’t intend to even shake it – only to honor your pain and send people your way.
      I’m trying to end this comment, but I’m stuck at the angel part. I’m certain those who know me are rolling their eyes! 😉
      Blessings and peace to you, dear heart.
      Love,
      Debbie

  2. Gracious Debbie . . .I don’t think that you know the impact of your two minutes of grace. Thank you. Thank you for sharing Jen with us that don’t know her, and remembering her and what she is going through with this song and back story to it. And adding in Caddo’s haiku. I don’t know . . .it just really all intertwined and connected us all together, in support and understanding and most of all grace and love. God bless you as He watches over you so carefully and orders these posts.
    love and prayers. the other deb

    1. Dear Deb – Jen writes so beautifully about things that are anything but beautiful. And of course, you already know how much Caddo can say in so few words.
      What I’m fairly certain you don’t know is how your faithfulness to read and to take the time to comment here has kept me going. You’ve grown dear to my heart.
      ~ Debbie

    1. Dear Jeanne – your comment makes me think of an entirely different kind of Sunday song: Softly and tenderly Jesus is calling …Come home, come home, ye who are weary come home. And so we do.
      ~ Debbie

  3. Awesome and so very sad.

    This is a beautiful tribute to our JEN. She is making such a huge difference in changing our thinking about alcoholism. It isn’t pretty, and it’s no joke.

    Thanks for raising the awareness of this singer who killed himself, Yes with alcohol. His journey was short, and so sad. Alcoholism KILLS.

    Thanks so much for this, xoxoo m

    1. melis – Clearly, I played only the smallest part in this, It’s people like you and Jen who are sharing your pain to open the door for others to heal.
      love to you, too,
      Debbie

  4. Oh my goodness, sis Debbie–there’s just so much heartbreak, isn’t there? And often it’s coupled with artistic genius, which seems doubly sad to me. Maybe this is why I’m so committed to laughing as much as I can, mostly at myself–and inviting others to join in with me.

    Beautiful post, sis–God bless you BIG!

    (And thank you for your generous kindness to me!)

    1. Caddo – You surely know how to beautifully combine wit and wisdom, even if you are a little directionally challenged. 😉
      I do have an odd blog. You aren’t the first to get lost. I’m glad you found your star. I do love your Haiku. Thank you for allowing me to share it!
      This is sadder than my usual Sunday Song, but life isn’t just a Sunday song, is it? There are so many ways to encourage and inspire. You and Jen both do it with your writing and I’m grateful.
      ~ Debbie

  5. Quite a number…. with Ricky Skaggs and who?

    Funny how gospel-rooted country singers have been part of my emotional alergy toward a lot of organized church experiences. Yet, so many of them can sing hymns and gospel songs with such conviction… and can be very moving… even though my biases try tell me otherwise.

    God uses imperfect people. Even celebrity millionaires who sometimes appear to sing gospel as a way to appeal to certain audiences, yet their lives and other music often seem contrary. But who am I to know their heart or intent.

    I am careful not to judge. God uses who he uses in the way he uses them. He even said he would use rocks and stones if necessary.

    This is a very moving piece and comes across as coming from a deep place for the three singing it. Leaves me more curious about Vince Gill than I had been. He isnt super well known in our area.

    Thanks for the post.

    Ciao.

    Chaz

    1. Chaz – Ricky Skaggs and Patty Loveless.
      I find I barely know my own heart, so like you, I pray that I’m careful not to presume to know the heart of another.
      Certainly all messengers are flawed. I cast my vote for the Message.
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

