Update

Blessed are those who can give without remembering and take without forgetting. ~ Elizabeth Bibesco

OK, gosh. You’ve overwhelmed me with your kindness and encouragement and prayers. I’m feeling a little awkward.

We’re still without a gate assignment, but the company we work for owns several yards where it’s possible to wait between jobs if there’s a spot. Monday night they were all full so we boondocked. Tuesday we got a call that there was an opening about 70 miles south. While we have no income right now, we also have no expenses since we have full hookup provided for free while we wait.

My RV is on the far left. As you can see, others are waiting for work with us.

It’s not glamorous, but then, neither am I, so it suits me just fine. I’ve been overwhelmed by your outpouring of prayers and emails. I’ve been offered spare rooms and guest rooms and driveways! Thank you. I won’t forget your kindness.

I ended Dan’s story with a conversation that took place when he’s was 3 months old. I stopped there because my point was my failure to appropriate grace for the moment and the wise counsel I received.

That was 29 years ago (I’m a bit of a slow learner). I talked to Dan after I saw your comments. We decided I needed to update you a bit.

At 9 months, Dan’s brain slowly began to compensate for the ocular albinism, which the doctor describes as seeing the world as a jigsaw puzzle with missing pieces. He had major surgeries at 3 and 5 to try to correct the nystagmus. He still has some today, but it hasn’t slowed him down.

Dan returned to the University of Iowa again in his early 20’s to get his PhD in Political Science. He’s now a professor at a college in New Jersey. He has a lovely wife, a 2 1/2 year old daughter and a 6 month old son.

While he (and I) appreciate your extra prayers for him, we thought I’d better share that all those things I thought he’d never get to do, he’s done… and much more.

All stories don’t have such happy endings. Whatever the outcome, the lesson for me is the same – sufficient grace is supplied for each moment if I’m willing to receive it.

Again I thank you for your love and prayers. You’re really quite an amazing group!

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

30 thoughts on “Update”

  1. It is nice to hear the “rest of the story” about Dan. Often we only hear a page or maybe a chapter in someone’s life and not the whole story. I look forward to reading your future posts. I imagine you use “down time” as more time to think and process. Thank you again for the reminder of accepting grace in the moment.

    1. Paulann – I’ve been so grateful for everyone’s prayers and for their response to ‘the rest of the story’, which, quite honestly, I hadn’t planned to tell. I underestimated the open loving hearts that share a couple of moments with me. My internet is woefully weak. I hope to visit you again soon.
      ~ Debbie

  2. Hi Debbie,
    Greg (writinggomer) commented on my blog and encouraged me to check out yours. It brings me great joy to see a group of believers supporting and praying for each other online. May you continue to “encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing” (I Thessalonians 5:11).

    1. Danielle – I’m so slow with my replies right now ( spotty internet and between jobs) so I hope you’ll see this.Thank you for visiting (and my thanks to Greg for the invitation). I’ve been completely overwhelmed by this amazing group of grace seekers. For the past 13 months, I’ve worked a job that requires me to be on site 24/7, every day of the year, so I’m not able to go to church. The Father, in the unusual and wonderful way that He does things, has brought the gift of fellowship to me here.
      I look forward to visiting you soon!
      ~Debbie

  3. Oh gosh, sister Debbie–I can’t even see to type! What a wonderful story of God’s grace and generosity, and awesome power! I’m thrilled to hear the update–thank you SO much. Also glad to hear that He is making provisions for you until the next job!! yay hurray (Caddo jumping up and down)!!!

    Just to overwhelm you (kidding) I’ve nominated you for the “Genuine Blogger Award”–no obligations, no Big rules and regs–be blessed (and read my post, just for the fun of it)! love to you from sis Caddo–xxxooo

    1. Caddo, kiddo, cut it out with the awards! Hey, I’m shy, remember?
      (thank you – you’re unfailingly too kind)
      Were you wearing your giant sunglasses as you hopped about? That’s how I pictured you! 😀
      I need some Delight tonight. I’ll be over.
      love,
      ~ Debbie

      1. Hey, Sis–if you can draw, I’d love to see the character of Caddo in the big sunglasses hopping, hands raised in hallelujahs! Do you get the feeling that Heaven is not going to be a quiet place? I picture the “dorm angel”, hands on hips: “Caddo! Settle down now!”

        Okay, no more awards for my shy sis–it’s not like there’s a law saying you have to accept, you know. But I’ll do better…except that there’s just one more that’s totally a blessing, no work involved or anything (Caddo wheedling).

    1. Jen, dear heart – thank you for caring so much! I absolutely love to be prayed for so I’m basking right now. Thank you!
      Wow! Now 3 people think I rock! LOL!
      You make my heart happy,
      ~ Debbie

    1. Dear Kate – Thank you for your generous Heart towards me. 😀
      I read the qualifications for the award and I don’t think I’m nearly quite all that – but I’m certainly honored that you think so. I thank you and will try to be as gracious in receiving as you are in giving.
      Warmly,
      Debbie

    1. Kate – For the past 13 months, I’ve been a gate guard at oil rigs in southern Texas. I anticipate doing this another 4 years full time and then, hopefully just 8-9 months and hitting the road the other 3-4 to visit family and friends. If you’re interested you can click on my link at the top of the page that says Fork in the Road – that’s my other blog and possibly my alter ego! 😀
      While I’d prefer to live in Oregon, or near my kids (Iowa and New Jersey), they don’t have any oil rigs there, so I’m adjusting to life in Texas!
      Hopefully another gate will open up soon. Thanks for your care and prayers!
      ~ Debbie

    1. Dear Drusilla – Thank you for both your prayers and your generous response to my posts. Surely didn’t mean to cause any concern. All is well, here and in New Jersey!
      ~ Debbie

    1. Thank you wg – so kind of you! And you know what, I’m do dyslexic I didn’t even see your typo. I should warn you right up front that although I proof read each post a dozen times and I try to stay around 300 words so that it doesn’t take more than 2 minutes – I still nearly always make a mistake somewhere in the post. I’ll just have to ask for your continued grace as you read.
      Once again, thank you for joining us here!
      ~ Debbie

  4. Thank you gracious and glamorous one, for this beautiful update . . .for wanting to calm those questions about Dan. 🙂 I love happy endings! 🙂 God bless you as you trust Him for everything! love and prayers!

    1. Dearest Deb – I felt so self conscious about causing such concern in my last post. Thank you for graciously understanding that it wasn’t my intent to mislead, just to share my own weaknesses.
      All is well here. No job yet, but I’m thinking all these prayers should lead to something interesting 🙂
      My love and prayers are with you, too. I didn’t forget that yesterday was Thursday.
      ~ Debbie

    1. John – 😀
      I’m 55 years old and you and Melissa (iamnotshe) are the first and only people in my entire life who’ve ever told me that I rock!
      I’m feel extra cool right now! 😉
      Thanks, John. I’ll be smiling about that for quite a while!
      ~ Debbie

  5. I’m so happy to see your post! I take it you have found a landing place!? You are so graceful. xoxo melis

    People love you and Heidi! Jeesh!

    1. Melis – LOL! I don’t think I’ll let Heidi comment on your comment about me being graceful (you do remember that I’m the one that fell out of the door onto the poor startled calves? 😀
      I know what you meant and thank you, sweetie.
      We’re overwhelmed and blessed by the kindness of so many!
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

