A Sunday Song – Let Me Rediscover You

You see my weakness, my pride, my blindness
You wield your power through them all
Of all the mysteries, still, the greatest to me
Is that you’re faithful when I fall

How can I say I know you
When what I know is still so small?
Let me rediscover you and breathe in me your life anew
Tell me of the God I never knew
Oh, let me rediscover you

Let me rediscover you
And by your grace I’ll follow through
Reveal to me the God I thought I knew

Let me rediscover you

This is a song that calls to my heart. I love the simple combination of a song called Let Me Rediscover You by a band called Downhere (rediscover Him Downhere now, not later Upthere). The portion I chose for the quotation is, to me, the distillation of grace.

I love the word rediscover. I discovered the God who loves me a very long time ago. Rediscovering means to discover (something) again.  When what I know is still so small, Lord, let me rediscover You.

Today is moving day. It will be interesting to see where your prayers have sent me! 😉 Thank you for sharing in these moments of grace with me. Thank you for keeping this a place of encouragement through your wise and tender comments. You make writing TMG a joy.

I may be right back tomorrow, if there’s internet in the land where we land. If not, to those of you who so faithfully read and share your thoughts here, know that you’ll continue to be in mine. And also in my prayers.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

29 thoughts on “A Sunday Song – Let Me Rediscover You”

    1. Dear Katharine – Thank you for your prayers. It’s been a very interesting time. There was a day when this much uncertainly would have left me unsettled. I’m confident that it’s your prayers and those of others that have made this a time of trust instead of trepidation.
      Warmly,
      Debbie

  1. Great post Debbie, love that song! Downhere is a great band. 🙂
    Prayers for safe travel and a new home!
    God bless

    1. Hello Greg! Although we get virtually no stations on the radio down here (just one, but it’s entirely in Spanish) I can get The Spirit on Direct TV. I often tune in at night and have come to know bands like Downhere that were new to me. 😀
      ~ Debbie

  2. That song is beautiful. Would that we all have that prayer for ourselves and each other.

    Praying as always, dear friend, for your ‘gentle’ landing and a grace-filled, blessed life. God bless.

    1. Dear Drusilla – I can hardly believe I wrote this post just a week ago. Wow – it was one l o n g week! Thank you for your prayers. You’re in mine as well as I see you’ve taken off for some family concerns.
      ~ Debbie

    1. Dearest Jen – Well, I didn’t plow into any palm trees this time. As a matter of fact, that far south in Texas, I didn’t even see a tree – or a cell tower.
      Yes, temporarily unemployed again. Interestingly, it hasn’t stopped raining since we left the gate on Thursday.
      You know how it rains so often on vacation? Possibly my forced vacation will help with the drought! 😉
      Love,
      Debbie

  3. Thanks Deb for all your work! I know you are not much of an award receiver but I just had to give you the Kreativ Blogger award! Thanks so much for all you do! JE

    1. Dear friend – As you may know, David Downing wrote a book titled: The Most Reluctant Convert: C.S. Lewis’s Journey to Faith
      I feel a bit like a reluctant convert when it comes to awards. I want to be gracious but honestly feel more like the Understudy here at TMG. 🙂
      I accept the gift with gratitude to you and will set about seeing how I can fulfill whatever requirements it may entail.
      Thank you, dear jelillie.
      ~ Debbie

  4. They play that song on the Christian radio station here and it pulls at my heart too.
    “tell me of the God I never knew” . . .there is so much about Him that I don’t know yet, but want to. God bless you as you rediscover Him today . .. and discover a new place to land in His grace. love and prayers gracious one!

    1. Dearest Deb – Yes! That’s just what it says to my heart, too. There’s so much about Him that I don’t know, but I so want to keep knowing Him more.
      Woe to the day I ever think I have all the answers.
      ~ Debbie

  5. Words, so many that prick the ear in that certain way. Several years ago I was at a convention and the word was renovatus. Not versed in latin I may have misspelled it but that word still hangs with me – renovation. Such a lovely description, especially when said in latin. 🙂 Rediscovery…hope….wonderful.

  6. Debbie–this is beautiful, as always. I love your wise inspiration–“re-discover” is a wonderful spiritual concept here. Reading your thoughts, I had the sense of returning to a fave vacation spot whenever I re-discover a truth about my relationship with God which particularly soothes me. God-speed to you, my precious sister–my prayers and Love accompany you–See you at the next gate. Can’t wait– xxxooo

    1. Dear Caddo – I have just such a spot in my mind. 😀
      This song reminds me of how little I know, should I ever begin to think that I know so much! I did that for WAY too long.
      Love to you, sis,
      ~ Debbie

    1. Oh! Did Jen nominate me for the 7×7, too? If so, I’m so sorry I didn’t thank her on my Sea Wall post. Because I’m not very timely with my acceptance speeches, I’m afraid I’ve fallen behind and missed acknowledging the kindness of others.
      I’ll link to one post at a time. Nobody want to read 14 minutes of me in a day! 😉
      ~Debbie

  7. To my faithful Earth Angel! You are always in my heart. I will take to heart your words about rediscovering God. I step in and step out of traditional religion. I firmly believe there is a God. I have faith in that. I have faith in you. I hope you land where you have internet, but if you don’t we will be waiting to read your precious words! oxoxox m

    1. deal melis – Hang on to your hat ;), I’m back! You and God are on a collision course, in the most wonderful way. He’s just waiting for you to rediscover Him! 😀
      love you to,
      ~ Debbie

  8. Thank you Debbie beautiful thoughts, I was lost and then I was found , God gave me two powerful Scriptures …

    Jeremiah 29:12-14 Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you. And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.

    James 1:4-6 But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing. If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him. But let him ask in faith, nothing wavering. For he that wavereth is like a wave of the sea driven with the wind and tossed.

    Christian Love Anne.

    1. Hello Anne – I have no doubt that as we continue to ‘seek’, we will continue to ‘find’ more and more of the One Who wants to be found! 😀
      ~ Debbie

      1. Hi Debbie so True when we search for God with all our heart we will find Him. Proverbs tells us we need to start with what is essential for us to grow in Maturity with the Lord and to understand how Awesome and Loving He is, so He asks us to ask for wisdom if we lack it and we all do but many don’t ask because they think they know it all they trust in their own understanding or others or they ask but don’t really believe they have received it, so they don’t believe others have either, sad but True. I will leave a link for you which explains why it is needed.

        Blog post – http://alifeofhopeandjoy.wordpress.com/category/woman-of-kingdom-wisdom/

        Christian Love Anne

Leave a Reply

