Where Do Lonely Hearts Go

Where do broken hearts go
Can they find their way home
Back to the open arms
Of a love that’s waiting there                                                      ~ Frank Wildhorn

It’s Valentine’s Day and I’m wondering where do broken hearts go today? In our Hallmark culture, we know today is a happy day of cards and candy and kisses. We’re a Day oriented people. We know we’re suppose to feel thankful on Thanksgiving Day, joyful on Christmas Day and loved on Valentines Day

But where do lonely hearts go today? Do they force a smile, or send cards, or bake heart-shaped cookies while they mute the TV commercials? Do they bury themselves in work, or escape into a world of denial or addiction, or watch the dance while feeling the leprosy of not be chosen?

Today is a day for lovers. The Lover of our soul calls out: Let my love be your Valentine. You are forever etched in my heart. I carved our initials in the rough wood of a cross. Can you find your way home, back to My open arms of a love that’s waiting there? Will you be my Valentine?

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

44 thoughts on “Where Do Lonely Hearts Go”

    1. Dear Paulann – Holidays are hard, aren’t they? Even if we had a calendar option that’s holiday free, the lonely hearts would still be lonely.
      Being chosen is so remarkable and yet, easy to shrug off if it’s not by the one we want to chose us.
      ~ Debbie

  1. amen. I remember the lonely-hearted feeling all too well. it is a blessing to be able to stand today and say that this is the best Valentine’s day I’ve ever had – even though I’m still very much single. The Lord is slowly mending my once very broken heart. Sometimes it’s hard to run into His arms, but He is the only true cure for a lonely heart. I pray others learn this truth 🙂

  2. Broken hearts heal over, but never truly mend. I am waiting for the day once again I can hold near those lost to me. February a month of loss, a month of remembering, a month of love of those here and those who left years ago. xoxo Mon and Dad.

  3. Oh, and i agree with Heidi … you are ALWAYS thinking about others. I’ll even (overuse the word) … Love that about you. Hey, today is V-Day so i can overuse the word Love. So there!!! xoxoxo

  4. Gracious Sis Debbie . ..you are spilling out His grace again. What a beautiful post and what a beautiful place TMG is. Today the Christian radio station said someone had donated money to cover the day’s broadcasting in honor of all the single people, widows and widowers. Thank you for thinking of those too today, who need a hug and the love of Jesus. God bless you and love on you today! You are one of His special valentines, beloved and cherished.

    1. Dearest Deb – I think holidays are particularly rough because they come with a prescription re: our emotions. On any other Tuesday or Saturday – we could simply have a good or a bad day. But on holidays, the combination of traditions and expectations loom large for many.
      ~ Debbie

  5. I have just been getting things ready for tonight’s sobriety awards. We’re putting more into it since it’s Valentines and several of the younger guys were helping me get balloons blown up and on the tables. We laughed, and jumped when a balloon would pop. I thought how much fun it was, in the company of lonely hearts, and feeling loved all the while. Thank you, Debbie, for your tender words.

  6. I’m so glad you used this photo. My Great Aunt sent this to my Grandma when they were girls! I need to get the rest of the cards photographed before they completely deteriorate!

    It is so typical of you to be thinking of others…wondering what their day is like. I like that about you.

    1. Heidi – Thank you letting me use your Grandma’s card. I think it was so sweet that those two sisters sent each other Valentine’s Day cards. 🙂
      ~ Debbie

  7. Sis, this is absolutely exquisite!!! Wow, I love it! And you know what? I used to be one of those who “muted” the romantic commercials that tore my heart in two–but not this year, because I have the greatest love of all–Jesus!! Bless you BIG, Sister!

Leave a Reply

