A Sunday Song – Nearer My God to Thee

Nearer My God to Thee

Nearer, my God, to Thee, nearer to Thee!
E’en though it be a cross that raiseth me;
Still all my song would be nearer, my God, to Thee,
Nearer, my God, to Thee, nearer to Thee!

Though like the wanderer, the sun gone down,
Darkness be over me, my rest a stone;
Yet in my dreams I’d be nearer, my God, to Thee,
Nearer, my God, to Thee, nearer to Thee!

There let the way appear steps unto heav’n;
All that Thou sendest me in mercy giv’n;
Angels to beckon me nearer, my God, to Thee,
Nearer, my God, to Thee, nearer to Thee!

Then with my waking thoughts bright with Thy praise,
Out of my stony griefs Bethel I’ll raise;
So by my woes to be nearer, my God, to Thee,
Nearer, my God, to Thee, nearer to Thee!

Or if on joyful wing, cleaving the sky,
Sun, moon, and stars forgot, upwards I fly,
Still all my song shall be, nearer, my God, to Thee,
Nearer, my God, to Thee, nearer to Thee!                           ~ Sarah Flower Adams

It’s been a while since I’ve shared an old hymn for my Sunday Song. Nearer My God to Thee was written by British actress, poet and hymn writer, Sarah Flower Adams (1805-1848).

I love this hymn. More and more it’s become the prayer of my heart:

Nearer, my God, to Thee, nearer to Thee!
E’en though it be a cross that raiseth me;

A Canadian survivor reported that the orchestra was playing Nearer My God to Thee on April 14, 1912 as the Titanic slowly sank to it’s watery grave.

Still all my song would be nearer, my God, to Thee,
Nearer, my God, to Thee, nearer to Thee!

I’m a huge fan of The Piano Guys. This video is visually stunning and melodically beautiful. I hope you enjoy it. Only Steven Sharp Nelson is featured here (so it’s really a cello guy) but most of their music is a piano/cello duet like none other.

Grace and love to you as we travel together, seeking to be always, nearer our God to Thee.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

31 thoughts on “A Sunday Song – Nearer My God to Thee”

  1. Hello, Sweet Debbie,
    Thanks for this. It is one of my favorites, too. I love how it compares our lives to that of Jacob’s and his ladder dream. Makes it a dreamy song, for me. Then that last verse is like a joyful, shouted awakening. Mmm. Love it. ❤

    1. dear katharine – Thank you! I never thought about this song in relationship to Jacob’s ladder dream. How fascinating! Thank you, my friend!
      love and grace to you,
      ~ Debbie

      1. Oh, it was “Bethel” that clued me in, and then I realized there was the stone pillow, the stairway to heaven, the angels, etc. Also, I think that was a low point in Jacob’s life, wasn’t it?
        I’m not sure we can actually climb Jacob’s ladder–I mean, I don’t think even Jacob did, but what a dream, eh?! What a dream! 🙂

      2. katharine – My kids both went to Bethel College in St Paul, so get collegiate rather than Biblical thoughts when I hear Bethel. 😉
        Now you’ve got me singing ‘We are climbing Jacob’s ladder, every round goes higher, higher’ etc…
        Except, of course, you’re quite right, we can’t.
        d

  2. debbie, you never cease to amaze me. i love your heart, and i learn so much from you. and thanks for introducing me to the piano guys.

  3. Thank you, gracious one! The words of the hymn brought on the tears. I love that it’s your prayer. I can’t think of anywhere I want to go more than nearer to Him. 🙂 And the Piano Guys were awesome. More tears. God bless you as you help us all come nearer to Him. love and prayers for your upcoming week!

    1. Noel – I can see how that would be fitting. It seems to have been replaced by Amazing Grace for the most common funeral song today. I long for both: a greater awareness of His amazing grace and to always be growing nearer to Him.
      Thanks, Noel!
      ~ Debbie

  4. Thanks Debbie for my church service. You provide me with my favorite part: Music. You, Heidi, Debby, Debbie, Jen are all making me more aware of lyrics as well. I’ve never heard of the piano guys … and i bone tired … i’ve been cleaning, dear D’s basement while he’s been away. Strike while that Cat’s away. Much love to you. Thanks for my spiritual dosage 😉 xoox m

    1. Hey melis – Hope you’re rested up – it’s almost the weekend again! 😉 Music moves me and since I always have a song playing, I try to immerse myself in the beautiful.
      love,
      Debbie

  5. Our pianist played a lovely arrangement of Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus this morning. Another hymn that speaks softly to me. I’ve never heard of the Piano Guys but do like the cello and piano so who knows. I’m checking them out. Thanks, Debbie, for this wonderful hymn.

    1. So Debby, what did you think? These guys are so creative and SO talented. Like Heidi, I rarely have the freedom to watch videos with limited internet so I’ve had fun with it this week (and yes, including visiting ARC!)!
      I love Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus – the chorus pretty much cures anything that ails me. Thank you for your encouraging presence here, my friend,
      ~Debbie

  6. Huge fan of the Piano Guys. If I had money to spend on music, I’d get theirs! This two weeks with free internet means I can play their youtube videos. Love this one. Thanks for introducing me to them. I know… I don’t live under a rock, but I live next to it!

    I cannot imagine playing a hymn (or any music) as I sink to my grave, but then, I can’t imagine being that selfless, I guess. Something to ponder. Thanks for the post, Debbie.

  7. Hi Sis Debbie! I love the hymn, love the cello guy–and Love you!! Thanks for inviting all who visit to come nearer to God. I am so Full-Up with Him today, I can’t stop crying–which will give me a headache, but what the hey? Glad for you having free hotel internet–yippee skippee!!! So, do the Piano Guys have CD’s? I’ll “google”–I can do that… God bless you abundantly today, and always. Love, sis Caddo

    1. Hello Sis! Free internet but not much free time. Here it is Wednesday and I’m only now getting back to Sunday’s comments. I hope your headache has long passed and your still quite full! 😀
      By now you’ve probably discovered that The Piano Guys do have CD’s – I’m listening to to Bring Him Home from Les Miserables as I write. Just beautiful!
      Love and grace to you every day of the week,
      ~ Debbie

      1. I did google the guys–unfortunately my library system hasn’t caught up on new acquisitions, so I can’t borrow them yet (I may do an inter-library loan request). Anyhow, I’m here to give you another award–you know the drill: get to it when you get to it, or not. The main point is that you know I always want to give you whatever I’ve go that’s worth anything–‘cuz I love you, Sis!! Caddo Delight (and exhausted)

Leave a Reply

