A Sunday Song – Healer

Healer heal me
Savior save me
Maker change me
Lover love me
’cause I’m so tired of living for
The kind of love
That only comes and goes
But your love
Your love lasts forever

So I fall on my knees
To get back on my feet again
And I cry out for you
To hear you speak to me

Yes I fall on my knees
To get back on my feet again
And I run hard for you
To enter your rest

~Ten Shekel Shirt

Thank you my Healer, Savior, Maker, Lover, for teaching me that the only way to get back on my feet, is to fall on my knees; and the only way to finally rest, is to run.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

20 thoughts on “A Sunday Song – Healer”

    1. Linda – It’s an old song… I think Miscellaneous (the album it’s from) is the only one I ever bought for just one song (back in the day you couldn’t buy single songs). This one really speaks to my heart.
      ~ Debbie

  1. Sugar pie honey bunch, doncha know when you’re right YOU ARE RIGHT. I know i’ve been sobbing on my knees before (usually looking for this love) … or “demands” for my salvation from vomiting my guts out …

    This speaks to me. Are my arthritic knees ready to bend??? Tell me true my sister of peace and grace…. Love to you, melis

    1. Oh melis –
      I pray that they are (ready to bend).
      When I was little, I was determined to jump UP our cement front porch steps. Jumping down was doable, if sometimes perilous, but I kept trying to jump up the steps.
      My knees were perpetually bloody because I just wouldn’t give up.
      I’m not the little train that could.
      I couldn’t.
      Eventually I had to learn that I was too small and the steps were too big.
      Only you know if you’re ready to bend.
      You have the running hard part down – I hope, I pray that you will find the rest.
      my love and prayers are always following you around,
      ~ Debbie

  2. Thank you, Debbie

    Beautiful song. Thanks for sharing.

    So thankful that I don’t have to stay in my fallen state. How great is our God!

    Blessings,
    ann

    1. Dear Ann –
      Amen, my friend!
      I’ve tried it my way and that was certainly ugly.
      Resting hasn’t come naturally for me.
      All is grace and I’m so very thankful,
      Debbie

    1. Greg –
      This song has always reminded me of the time a missionary spoke in the commons of my dorm my freshman year in college. She was maybe 50? She seemed old to me at the time. 😉
      Anyway, she said that Jesus was her savior and her friend and her lover.
      At the time, I knew she was saying something radical but I wasn’t sure if it was beautiful or blasphemous. I was 18 and didn’t get it.
      I get it now. I get now. It was beautiful.
      grace to you, my friend,
      ~ Debbie

    1. Noel, I loved this song when it first came out – and love it still. Back in the day when I bought CD’s, I bought Miscellaneous, just for this song. 🙂
      ~ Debbie

  3. Thank you gracious Sis, for such a beautiful Sunday song time. Little Aub and I are rocking and swaying to it! 🙂 Love you . . .God bless you and smile upon you today! – the other deb

    1. Oh Deb, I’m happy you can rock to the song, but sorry that you two are up so late. I’ll start praying now for peaceful dreams.
      Love to you and Aub!
      ~ Debbie

      1. You are so dear . . .we get to sleep . . .just not when most people do! She has her days and nights switched around, but it kind of works for us . . .except when we have to get up early and go somewhere. 🙂 love you!

    1. Dear Caddo of the S.G. –
      This is my favorite OLD Ten Shekel Shirt Song – I’m going to post a new one later this week.
      God bless you, too, Sis!
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

