Do It Again!

Because children have abounding vitality, because they are in spirit fierce and free, therefore they want things repeated and unchanged. They always say, “Do it again”; and the grown-up person does it again until he is nearly dead. For grown-up people are not strong enough to exult in monotony.

But perhaps God is strong enough to exult in monotony. It is possible that God says every morning, “Do it again” to the sun; and every evening, “Do it again” to the moon. It may not be automatic necessity that makes all daisies alike; it may be that God makes every daisy separately, but has never got tired of making them. It may be that He has the eternal appetite of infancy; for we have sinned and grown old, and our Father is younger than we.Β Β Β  ~ G.K. Chesterton

~

I love this quote because it makes me laugh and I love it because it reminds me that growing up isn’t a race toward the next event, the next holiday, the next achievement. It’s not a test of sophistication or talent or endurance or excellence. Growing up is slowing down to taking in every grace filled moment.

Tonight I’m missing the moon. I fell in love with the moon in the great green room many years ago. Night after night after night, my Mom would read Good Night Moon and night after night I’d say: Do it again! Do it again!

I still love the moon. I’m enchanted by its predictable cycle of waxing and waning. Just days ago it was stunningly huge and orange as it overwhelmed the eastern sky. Tonight it’s waned entirely, deferring to the stars. In a day or two, the moon will begin its shy return. My heart smiles as I say to God: Do it again! Do it again!

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

32 thoughts on “Do It Again!”

    1. Thanks, Kate!
      You just have to love someone who says:
      β€œPoets have been mysteriously silent on the subject of cheese!” ~ G.K. Chesterton πŸ˜€
      Grace and wonder, a lovely combination!
      ~ Debbie

    1. judi – will you remind me of this post about the middle of July when I start talking about the 65th straight day of 100+ heat (on Fork)? πŸ™‚
      grace and joy to you, judi,
      ~ Debbie

  1. I loved this . . .”growing up is slowing down to take in every grace filled moment”. People are going to be quoting you, if you keep this up. πŸ™‚
    I have a forever child, and get to do things over and over again. You blessed me by showing how it’s a good thing to find joy in this.
    God bless you, gracious one, who loves her God to the moon and back, over and over again! love you – the other deb
    p.s. thanks for praying us through today! It went beautifully! πŸ™‚

    1. Dearest Deb –
      “It may be that He has the eternal appetite of infancy; for we have sinned and grown old, and our Father is younger than we.”
      God bless Aub, who will remain young like her Father.
      And God bless her mother’s wise and tender heart.
      love and grace to you both,
      ~ Debbie
      I’ve thought often about Friday. Wonderful news! πŸ˜€

  2. this really hits home;

    My son was conceived on the full moon and born on the full moon. He turned 14 on Weds. I can not help but ponder the ‘circle story’

    my son celebrating and becoming more and more a man every day. The night of his birthday was his HIGH SCHOOL welcome night. He will be going to a Jesuit high school and it was with great relief that the evening began with a prayer.

    The focus of the school is on ‘being a man, with and for others’

    I was in tears thinking about the transitions that are coming and feeling blessed that he will be in an environment that will challenge his Heart and his intellect. Life if good.

    and then there is my dear friend Mel losing her mother.

    Circle Story

    the moon is the big Circle in the sky that keeps me grounded.

    I love knowing that the moon is always there just like God, and that everyone I love is under the same Moon.
    Mel and you and Heidi and my son and…..

    thank you.

    Love Jen

    This is a beautiful post

    1. Dear Jen –
      So many transitions: boy to man, life to death – under one moon shining down on us, One God in love with us.
      Wow – high school. That’s big. I love that: ‘being a man, with and for others’.
      That’s quite a lunar circle you have going!

      I fell in love with the moon, just a year or two before you were born:
      β€œIn the great green room, there was a telephone
      And a red balloon
      And a picture of a cat jumping over the moon…”
      I still visit occasionally. πŸ˜€
      grace and peace to you, Jen,
      ~ Debbie

  3. Thank you Debbie

    This is a most beautiful and timely post !!

    I just had a conversation about being a child again, and how much I enjoyed re-reading The Velveteen Rabbit, Corduroy and Sellaluna two or so weeks ago. I read them as an act of ‘rebellion’ … I refused to let my state of being grown-up affect my ability to be a child again πŸ™‚

    I think your post is such a beautiful expression of how He wants us to be His children who laugh and play and take delight in the things He has created for us. To be starry-eyed again. To dance in the rain. To live in the freedom He brings. I love the way you paint word pictures of the moon. I shall be looking at it in a different light the next time I see it πŸ™‚

    Thanks for sharing this masterpiece with us.

    May Papa continue to refresh your talents as you share with us.

    Blessings
    ann

    1. Hello dear Ann!
      Wow! Reading your comment sent me into the world’s of William P. Young and Margery Williams and Margaret Wise Brown, all in 30 seconds! πŸ˜€

      “Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But these things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand… once you are Real you can’t become unreal again. It lasts for always.”

      God bless your rebellious heart!
      ~ Debbie

    1. Dear Caddo –
      I thought it was time we had a little fun! Yes, let’s do it again with parrots and geckos and God!
      grace to you, my creative friend!
      ~ Debbie

  4. So many times I’ve tried to capture on film the fullness of the golden moon. It never comes close to the natural splendor God created and yes, it has us also saying, “do it again!”. Lovely, Debbie.

    1. Debby – I love the way Chesterton captures the joy of God – a side not often spoken of.
      So, you love the moon, too! Yep! πŸ˜‰
      grace to you, dear friend,
      ~ Debbie

    1. Hello Greg!
      I have a good friend back in Iowa who participated in ‘a picture a day’ last year. She generously allows me to use any photo I want – you’ll see her name, Kari Box, in my tags from time to time.
      I loved the pure joy in this one. Imagine my surprise to learn it was a picture of one of my dear friend’s grandsons (who was visiting from Japan)! Serendipitous! πŸ˜€
      Debbie

    1. Hello dear Pastor J!
      I love Chesterton!
      “It is possible that God says every morning, β€œDo it again” to the sun; and every evening, β€œDo it again” to the moon.”
      Can’t you just hear it? πŸ˜€
      ~ Deb

  5. Sometimes I feel old. Spring helps. My relationship with my Father helps more. This is one of my favorites. Thank you for posting it today. I needed the reminder that monotony is filled with grace moments, too. By the way, I love this shot of Tracey’s little one and the way you treated it.

    1. Heidi – Oh yes, to learn to glory in the monotony! πŸ˜€
      (should a monotonous day ever find it’s way here)
      When I chose Kari’s photo – I didn’t know it was a picture of Jackson!
      That made the joy double! πŸ˜€
      Debbie

Leave a Reply

