You Can’t Always Get What You

The richest love grows in the soil of an unbearable disappointment with life. When we realize life can’t give us what we want, we can better give up our foolish demand that it do so and get on with the noble task of loving as we should. We will no longer need to demand protection from further disappointment. The deepest change will occur in the life of a bold realist who clings to God with a passion only his realistic appraisal of life can generate.  ~Larry Crabb

This reminds me of the chorus to the old Rolling Stones hit:

You can’t always get what you want
You can’t always get what you want
You can’t always get what you want
But if you try sometimes well you just might find
You get what you need

I’m struck by the  juxtaposition between these lyrics and Larry Crabb’s quote. As long as I insist that life here in this temporary tent offers me all I want for happiness, fulfillment and peace, I’ll continually be disappointed.

In the moments that I shift my gaze from the mirror to others, and get on with the noble task of loving as I should, in those moments, I receive more than all I need and more than I had enough imagination to want.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

23 thoughts on “You Can’t Always Get What You”

  1. Thank you much, Debbie

    Isn’t it just fabulous that what we need often works way better than what we (thought) we wanted? 🙂

    Blessings
    ann

  2. Oh gracious one . . .you are ministering to us in a really beautiful way. I heard a quote on the radio, by Tozer I think, that said unless we’ve been hurt very deeply, we won’t be able to be used by God. This kind of is along the same lines . . .unless we have suffered such disappointment, we won’t truly know how to love. God bless you and the grace you share with us here. 🙂 It’s like a drive through gracing spot! 😀 And Debbie . . .I’ve heard this song a few times here lately, and it made me think of your “why” posts and even this one. Once again, if you don’t think it is appropriate though, please forgive me and delete!!! love you – the other deb

    1. Dearest Deb –
      I know it’ll be a while before you see this comment. Thank you for the beautiful video. This IS what it means ‘to be held’.
      My prayers are with you and Aub.
      I hope the cats and bubbles bring joy.
      I miss you already,
      Debbie

  3. “The deepest change will occur in the life of a bold realist who clings to God with a passion…” not for answers, rewards or met expectations but just passionate clinging!

    1. Judi – I see you’re following my widely trailing train of thought through these past 3 posts! 😀
      Just passionate clinging! Amen!
      ~ Debbie

  4. Gosh darn, you are ALWAYS right. How often do i have to say this??? I am so happy to have people to love. Boy, there are lottsa of people that need kindness. Give me strength today to look beyond my own bellybutton today 😉

  5. Amen! I’m so with you on this, Debbie (but it sure did take a dang-long time…). Yeah, the Rolling Stones–who’d a thunk it??!!! God bless you, dear Sis–your Caddo with-more-realistic-stars-in-her-eyes

Leave a Reply

