God of the 3 O’s

There is a point in a child’s development when the child’s minds seems shaped like a question mark — every sentence begins with “why”. The answers seem only to raise more questions. Most parents understand that although it is important to attempt an answer, often the answer is irrelevant. For little children, what is most important is the act of questioning itself because children’s questions are more than a request for information. Their questions are an act of affection, of communion, and of trusting.

In a healthy family, children’s questions are not about answers — their questions are about relationship. Children intuitively know their questions are welcome, appreciated. Safe. And not only are children’s questions welcome, but they are welcome. In a welcoming environment where questions are safe, children are infected  with curiosity — a fascination with truth, an unrelenting hunger to know and be known, to capture and be captured, to touch and be touched. When these children finally fall asleep at night, they are secure in the knowledge that the one who loves them is bigger than all their questions, they can sleep deeply, knowing they are safe in the arms of the Keeper of their questions.  ~ Michael Yaconnelli

This is how I see asking questions of our Father. For us, just like with  children, what is most important is the act of questioning itself because our questions are more than a request for information. Our questions are an act of affection, of communion, and of trusting. Our questions are not about answers — our questions are about relationship.
I believe in the God of the 3 O’s:
* Omniscience – all-knowing
* Omnipresence – all-present
* Omnipotence –  all-powerful

When I pray, it’s not as if I’m not giving God any news.
He Who made my heart, knows my heart. He knows my questions before I ask them. He knows them before I know them.

When I pray, I’m longing to know and be known, to capture and be captured, to touch and be touched.

When I ask questions of God, I’m not giving Him insight into my heart. He’s already there. I can’t tell Him anything that He doesn’t already know about me.

But if we talk much, He gives me insight into my heart, telling me things that I didn’t already know about me.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

25 thoughts on “God of the 3 O’s”

  1. I remember reading a biography of George Washington Carver and in it, he asked God “why did you make the peanut?”
    God proceeded to show him exactly why, and so many inventions came from the lowly peanut, that the man becamevery famous. I think we should ask Him things — who else knows everything?

  2. I really really like this! I wish I knew that when I was young and up.
    I think every person on this earth needs to hear this.

    Let the whole world know.

    It is very endearing and intimate with the Father and I love that.

    1. Dear Cath –
      Thank you, kind friend!
      Let’s try to let the whole world know together! 😀
      You start in Iowa and I’ll start in Texas and we’ll see where we end up!
      love and grace and many prayers,
      ~ Debbie

  3. This hits the nail on the head! ” But if we talk much, He gives me insight into my heart, telling me things that I didn’t already know about me.”

    God knows all, so we are not ever sharing info He does not already have.
    Rather when we pray, ask questions and talk to God we are,

    1. Acknowledging God as greater then we are
    2. Acknowledging His right to rule
    3. Acknowledging His way is better then ours
    4. We are being truthful with our Father
    5. We are seeking answers from One greater then ourselves
    6. We are seeking to know ourselves from the One who made us
    7. We are admitting our fallibility
    8. We are seeking forgiveness of sin
    9. We are seeking a right relationship with our only true Father
    10. We are seeking to be loved by our Father as our earthly parents love us

    Great post Debbie!! You have a way with words I so much appreciate!
    There would be a hole in my heart were you not here posting my friend.

    Blessings and a hug to you sister
    Greg

  4. I love this Debbie. I wrote a short story about my religious upbringing, but haven’t seen fit to have it published. It’s sort of personal. Anyway, I bring this up because the title is “To Ask or Not to Ask.” When I was a child in catechism, I asked a question about God and the teacher scolded me. She told me that I’d go to purgatory if I didn’t just have faith and believe. The gist of my story was that, thankfully, I didn’t heed that teacher’s threat, and my questions have led to fulfillment in God. 🙂

    1. Lori –
      I would love to read your short story if you ever feel like sharing it.
      I’m so very sad you received a lesson like that so early in life. It happens all too often. How wise you were to listen to the still small voice rather than your teacher too loud one.
      Love and questions are a wonderful combination,
      ~ Debbie

  5. Debbie– This is a profundity that is difficult to share, but when we know it, we know so much of what further fuels faith.

    “He Who made my heart, knows my heart.” is the basis for all my responses to Him, whether in question form or in the declarative, or even wordless sighs. He does know all of my reactions before I even react.

    “If we talk much, He gives me insight into my heart, telling me things that I didn’t already know about me.” This is the secret. This is why I pray and when I understand myself better, I understand why He wants me to pray. I grow in trusting from the security that we build.

    Great post. Thank you for this one!

  6. Yes–that last part is SO true. Wonderful post, as always, Debbie! (Inquiring hearts want to know, and be known.) God bless you Big. love, sis Caddo

  7. This is so beautiful , gracious one! I didn’t realize it but YES . ..when we talk, He gives me insight into my heart. And that He does that, gives me insight into His! God bless you and all the things you and He talk about! love and prayers – the other deb

    1. Dearest Deb –
      You’ve connected the dots so beautifully – as He gives us insight into our own hearts, we gain insight into His!
      That’s such a beautiful way to show love!
      love and prayers to you,
      Debbie

  8. Debbie this is so wonderful … i BET you know this speaks to me VOLUMES … and a few other folks we know. I will look at God as someone who will not punish me for asking questions, rather someone who is waiting for me to speak up and know that i will be safe. I need to practice this a lot! 🙂 I’m going to trust. Love you, mel xoxox

    1. dearest mel –
      I hope you see this comment when you get home because I want you to know how HAPPY it makes me!!! 😀
      God love your questions. He loves YOU!
      He just wants to talk (and listen) – no censorship required, just all poured out.
      Trust is hard. There’s no safer place to put it than in Him.
      much love,
      Debbie

Leave a Reply

