Key Moments

Listen to your life. See it for the fathomless mystery it is. In the boredom and pain of it, no less than in the excitement and gladness: touch, taste, smell your way to the holy and hidden heart of it, because in the last analysis all moments are key moments, and life itself is grace.  ~ Frederick Buechner

There have been moments that I can readily point to and say things like: That was that day that I…  It was in that moment that I knew…  For the first time, I understood what it meant to feel…  We all have defining moments, where, whether due to choice or to chance, something happened or was said or heard or seen, that has marked us with indelible ink like a tattoo.

But there are millions of unremarkable moments where the waters make a slow, steady rise, eroding the shoreline and leaving debris that we can’t account for. There are countless moments lost to weariness or want or worry where we completely forget about touching and tasting.

I’m realizing that I’m in a constant process of making miniscule choices. They don’t feel like choices because they’ve become as reflexive as blinking or breathing. This is how I react to fear. This is how I react to pain. This is how I react to grace. If I stay stuck in the this is just how I am, then, yes it is.

Or I can choose to taste and touch and smell my way to the holy and hidden heart of it by inhabiting my life, eyes open, listening. Plato wrote: An unexamined life is not worth living. Listening to my life is a lesson that I’m learning because in the last analysis all moments are key moments, and life itself is grace.

In each moment I can choose to revel or rebel. I can risk or run. I can choose grace or guilt. With each choice, I’m determining the key and the tone of my life. Stringing together like a score that builds to a crescendo of gloom or glory, every moment is another note in the symphony I write by how I choose to live.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

24 thoughts on “Key Moments”

  1. Hi Debbie,

    Wonderful words here today my friend. Every choice we make, each word we speak…or do not speak, every reaction to an action…affects us and many others we might not even know.

    Blessings to you this weekend 🙂
    Greg

    1. Hi Greg!
      Yes, my friend.
      That’s what I’m trying so hard to keep in front of me.
      Every moment does matter. My choices each day shape my character, which touches others in ways imperceptible to me, but real.
      With so much freedom, there is so much accountability. Funny how that all works, isn’t it?
      ~ Debbie

  2. I, too, have been on that journey of consciously making choices – I think I felt a “nudge” a while back that got my attention – and am slowly learning these lessons. My attitude, my responses, my words spoken are beginning to first go through a though process now that never was before. It’s a slow process. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Debbie. You are always a blessing.

    1. Dear Drusilla –
      It’s a journey to be sure!
      Since you also read Fork, you know that I live in the last place I ever wanted to live – far from my kids and grandkids; doing a job I’m constitutionally ill suited for; living with creatures that all want to hurt me – either with their fangs or tusks or stinging and biting and crawling down my shirt! 😉
      SO – every moment I’m aware that I can choose joy or I can focus on the negative things around me.
      It’s a journey, but it’s also an adventure!
      Writing this blog helps me keep my heart centered.
      People like you who read and comment bring me more joy than you know!
      Thank you for gracing this moment,
      ~ Debbie

  3. Gracious one . . I love the symphony of your life as you share it here and we hear it played out. The choices and decisions you make help reveal more of Him to us with each post. A little weepy with this one . . realizing that I miss too much when I don’t chose wisely what to do with each moment. Praying and asking Him to awaken me to all the moments He gives. God bless you! love and prayers and thanks!

    1. Dear Deb –
      Being honest with you, there I times when I think that my attitude, my reaction in this particular moment doesn’t matter, it’s my business. And of course, if I let myself think that way, life becomes all just about me. But it never is, is it? It’s always about God and making a move closer to or farther away from His overflowing grace.
      Thank you for always inching me toward Him!
      ~ Debbie

  4. No surprise–I LOVE all of this. I love the “holy and hidden heart”, I love the idea of “CHOICE”, I love–though I’m not even the least musical–that the moments of our lives are strung together into a symphony which God Himself has scored. Amazing, isn’t it, that He tunes our discordant notes that they will be an Academy award-worthy, spectacular theme when we join Him in heaven. Praise His powerful name! God bless you, Debbie–much love, sis Caddo Delight

    1. Dear Caddo –
      So well put. God has written a beautiful score and then I decide to add an extra sharp or flat which makes people cringe. But YES in His abundant grace, He just keeps transposing!
      Much love and grace to you who sees so much by the sea,
      ~ Debbie

  5. Your symphony is no longer in the minor key! This is major! Thank you, Debbie. “In each moment I can choose to revel or rebel. I can risk or run. I can choose grace or guilt.” I just love this part. I’m posting it in my facebook status. I’ll give you credit, of course, but I can’t resist sharing.

    1. Heidi –
      Sometimes i forget I’m making choices. I know, that’s crazy, but it’s true.
      Wow! I feel like a famous author, being quoted on FB! Thanks!
      Of course, most of your FB friends know me so they’re probably rolling their eyes! 😉
      ~ Debbie

  6. Too often my reflexes are off. I still need to be intentional about my choices but how wonderful for them to be reflexsive. Good thoughts to ponder here, dear friend.

    1. Debby –
      Me, too.
      It’s “Persistence of Set”.
      I’m trying so hard to be more intentional in the every day. For example, does it matter if, when I get up in the afternoons, I say a cheerful hello, or just a half awake mumble? I think it does.Each action and reaction set off a chain reaction which affects not just me, but everyone I see in a day (and I see a lot of people on this job! ) 🙂
      I’m a slow learner, but I’m learning…
      Anytime now, you should be feeling a soggy batch of love and prayers, making it’s way in the humid Texas air to rain sodden Florida! 😀
      ~ Debbie

    1. Linda –
      Sometimes I forget that I’m a continual state of choice making – my attitude, my reactions etc..
      Thanks for being amazed with me, friend!
      ~ Debbie

Leave a Reply

