Hide and Seek

The Russians, I am told, report that they have not found God in outer space. On the other hand, a good many people in many different times and countries claim to have found God, or been found by God, here on earth.

Space travel really has nothing to do with the matter. To some, God is discoverable everywhere; to others, nowhere. Those who do not find Him on earth are unlikely to find Him in space. (Hang it all, we’re in space already; every year we go a huge circular tour in space.) But send a saint up in a spaceship and he’ll find God in space as he found God on earth. Much depends on the seeing eye.  ~C.S Lewis

It’s quite true, isn’t it? We say we want to see Him.

If we can’t see God all around us, in our every day, there’s very little hope of finding Him in the heavens or in the church or in the words of a teacher or preacher or saint. We ask for more, for an epiphany, while He’s standing in front of us, sitting on the bench beside us, sharing in our quiet thoughts and abiding in our most secret places.

This isn’t Hide and Seek. He isn’t hiding.

It’s just Seek

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

37 thoughts on “Hide and Seek”

  1. I think Gagarin said he had refuted Christianity, going into “The Heavens” and not finding God. Lewis had space as “Deep Heaven”, filled with Spirit and angels, and a new Eve on Venus.

  2. When my children were little they learned that there are 3 heavens:
    – The atomosphere, where the birds are
    – Outer space, where the stars are
    – Beyond outer space, where God is.

    The Russians just didn’t go far enough. Of course they would say no man could do that without dying.

    So, we have to die to be with God. What’s new?

    So, with man it is impossible. What’s new?

    Or we can sit on a beach and be with God? I can do all things through Christ! 🙂

      1. They were very sweet. All grown, now.
        Once, though, one of them set his Sunday School teachers straight, like a little Einstein. We heard about it afterwards and hardly knew how to apologize for that! 🙄

  3. Damn you’re clever. I just love you! Seek and you shall find. Or just bloody SEEK! I got cha!!! It’s there for the taking .. open thy armeths!!!! Love, mel

  4. He does show Himself everywhere we look. I pray for even more eyes to open and see and know His goodness. Thank you for the wonderful “picture” of His work.

  5. I am always fascinated at how and when God becomes known to people. I really don’t understand it and I have some huge questions fo him at some point. I have truly felt spoken to by God in some of the most unlikely places, at times when I didnt think I was looking for Him. I agree though that most often if we have made up our mind to not find him, no matter where we look geographically, we won’t.

    Ciao.

    Chaz

    1. Hi Chaz!
      Like you, I’ve found God showing up in my life in, what seemed to me to be, the mostly unlikely of times and places. While I can’t always ‘see’ His direction, I can always find Him when I’m seeking Him.
      Sometimes I wonder if we/I get His guidance confused with His Presence?
      Debbie

  6. I saw God today. I saw Him in a little boy who tickled his little sister on the way into church this morning. I saw Him when the little sister smiled back at her brother. And I saw Him when their dad carried the youngest sister on his hip, so that mom could walk up easier. Oh our God is so good!

    I loved this post! I could see God in it.

    ~ Wendy

  7. Ahhh Sis, what a great word–from Mr Lewis and from you, our Sister of Grace. “It isn’t hide and seek–He’s not hiding.” I wonder if I could say that to unbelievers without sounding flippant…sometimes I have such a lack-of-grace attitude/tone (confession). God bless you this glorious Lord’s Day–much love, sis Caddo (I’m dying to tell you a secret–am waiting for His green light!)

    1. Hellooo Caddooo!
      I’m not sure how this would translate to unbelievers but I do know that it’s a good reminder to me to continue to seek and not begin to think I’m done finding (not exactly Jack’s point in the quote – taking a few liberties here). 😀
      I’m so glad the the light finally go unstuck from yellow!
      Debbie

  8. This is lovely. It reminds me of a quote I heard a long time ago, I didn’t know who said it so I looked it up. Goodreads.com attributes the quote to Einstein. “There are only two ways to live your life. One is as if nothing is a miracle. The other is as if everything is a miracle.”

  9. This is beautiful, gracious FF! He’s always here, always been here. Some days I think perhaps I’m “over spiritualizing” things, but can seek Him for lessons in about everything that I see or happens. 🙂 Thank you and God bless you as you play “seek” today! love and prayers!

    1. Deb –
      I can say that my problem, when I have one, has been from a lack of seeking, not a lack of finding. Sometimes willfully, but most often, simply forgetfully plunging ahead on my own.
      love and prayers sent on the wings of a lovely dragon fly (I think Aub will like it)
      Debbie

    1. Hello Francine –
      He makes it pretty clear, doesn’t He?
      I think that, most likely, when I’ve sought and haven’t found, I’ve had a spell of tunnel vision.
      Thank you for being so consistent and so encouraging!
      Debbie

  10. Ahh well said. Never thought of us being in outer space. Wild. Either way wherever I am there also is He. I just need to be of mindful presence.

    I so enjoy your blog Debbie.

    Love Cath.

    1. Hello Cath!
      I love the focus the Lewis puts on reality that wherever we go, He’s already there!
      Thank you, my friend, for your kind words.
      It’s always a joy to see you!
      Debbie

  11. I believe we’ll always find what we’re looking for. If we look for God we’ll find him. If we look for evil we’ll find it too. As you said, God isn’t hiding. He’s waiting to be found. Great words by CS Lewis too 😉

    1. Debby –
      Clearly the quote by C.S. Lewis is a bit dated when it comes to space exploration, but his explanation of God wanting to be found works well for me. 😀
      Debbie

Leave a Reply

