Travelers

The traveler sees what he sees, the tourist sees what he has come to see.  ~ G.K. Chesterton

I’ve love the concept of being a traveler.

I used to sing This World Is Not My Home with my Dad. And for him, the angels beckoned several years ago.

This world is not my home,
I’m just a passing through,
My treasures are laid up
somewhere beyond the blue;
The angels beckon me
from heaven’s open door,
And I can’t feel at home
in this world anymore.

My Savior pardoned me
from guilt and shame I know,
I’ll trust His saving grace
while trav’ling here below;
I know He’ll welcome me
at heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home
in this world anymore.

While I live here, in this temporary tent, I hope to live as a traveler, not a tourist. I pray to learn to see what I see and not just what I expect to see.

I’m going to take a bit of a break for a few weeks. While I’m gone, keep your eyes open and I’ll try to do the same and when I come back, let’s share what all we’ve seen!

Love and grace to you all,

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

42 thoughts on “Travelers”

  1. Morning Debbie,oh the poem is so good and the thoughts that follow! I also want to get closer so as to see through the eyes of my Saviour. I hope your time away gives you refreshment and closeness,as He opens your eyes and fine tune your ears.
    Love you much and I appreciate your encouragement and friendship 😀 😀

  2. Have a wonderful break. I will be praying for you sister. I am just catching up on my reading having been away for the last week myself. Thanks for this. I am pondering what I have seen in my travels.

    1. Pastor J –
      It will probably take me months to catch up on my blog reading. Thank you so much for praying for me. What a rare and rich kindness. I look forward to hearing about your travels!

  3. Oh I love our grace assignment, to learn to see what we see! 🙂 God bless you, gracious one, and all that He delights you with during this time! love and prayers!

    1. Debbie –
      How perfectly you’ve said it – learning to see what we see is a lot harder than it sounds. It was just the right mindset for me to venture off with! Thank you so much for your faithful love and prayers. I’m honored.

  4. Missing you already, Debbie–but sending you off with prayers of grace and LOVE. God bless you BIG–love, sis Caddo

    1. Dear Sis –
      Your prayers and love mean more than I can say.
      We had some interesting adventures. I’ll share a little here and more on Fork.
      It was great to come home to your smiling face!

      1. I’m SO curious about your new gravatar pic–are you going to explain that somewhere? There must be a good story that goes with it!

  5. And just when I am getting back into blog reading, one of my blessings is taking a vacation! Have a safe and blessed time. Will look forward to sharing all of what we have experienced.

  6. A “traveler, not a tourist”. Interesting distinction. I like that. I know this is the right time for you to change scenery and refresh yourselves. I also know God has gone before you and prepared the way. Enjoy the journey!

    1. Debby –
      I found myself falling into the tourist trap occasionally, but I tried hard to remain a traveler. I found it made a huge difference in my inner peace and in my ability to take in all the richness and beauty of the moment. Did some interesting reading about that – will share more soon!

Leave a Reply

