Doin’ Alright

The settled happiness and security which we all desire, God withholds from us by the very nature of the world: but joy, pleasure, and merriment, He has scattered broadcast. We are never safe, but we have plenty of fun and some ecstasy. It is not hard to see why. The security we crave would teach us to rest our hearts in this world and pose an obstacle to our return to God: a few moments of happy love, a landscape, a symphony, a merry meeting with our friends, a bathe or a football match, have no such tendency. Our Father refreshes us on the journey with some pleasant inns, but will not encourage us to mistake them for home. ~ C.S. Lewis

I just returned from a vacation full of joy and pleasure and merriment. I listened to the haunting song of the humpback whale and was amazed to see puffins riding the waves next to the frolicking sea otters. I hiked in a mystical rain forest and watched a black bear catching salmon for his dinner. I listened to a great Indie/Folk singer strum an old Jo Dee Messina tune:

Been singin’ for my rent and singin’ for my supper
I’m above the below and below the upper
I’m stuck in the middle where money gets tight
But I guess I’m doin’ alright

I sang along (softly):

I’m all, I’m all, I’m alright
It’s a beautiful day not a cloud in sight so I guess I’m doin’ alright
o – oh, o – oh, I’m alright
Got a good old friend here with me tonight and I guess I’m doin’ alright

My heart was happy and I was, indeed, doin alright. Yet, in the midst of good friends and good times and good weather, I found, inside myself, a longing for home. That’s always the way it is with me. In spite of the many pleasant inns, I eventually long for the comfort of my own bed that’s just the right amount of soft, and my pillow that perfectly cradles my head. But beyond that, I long for my true home.

I want more than a vacation or an adrenalin rush or a temporary cure for the common life. I want the settled happiness and security of home. And one sweet day, I’ll have it.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

23 thoughts on “Doin’ Alright”

      1. You are not so far away. I dream of a “blog tour” that happens with wheels on highways. Of course, some of my blog friends are in Europe and Indonesia . . . 😉
        It will happen — here or in the air! 🙂

  1. This was such an amazing photo! Also an amazing excursion into God’s isolated creation. I love the poetic way you wrote this, Debbie.

    “I want more than a vacation or an adrenalin rush or a temporary cure for the common life. I want the settled happiness and security of home” Amen!

    Taking the inspiration from this photo with me today. I’m going to keep finding moments of ‘home’ with Him even here…

    1. Heidi –
      You are the grandest of traveling companions. Thank you for continually encouraging me to live in the moment and without losing a passionate longing for home!

  2. “A cure for the ‘common life'”–that would definitely be a hot seller. I’m so glad you’re back in your temporary home with us–the bosom of fans, friends and blog family. Sounds like a great, well-deserved vaca! God bless you BIG–love, sis Caddo Delight, SG, PG, “preacher”

    1. Hello Judi!
      I couldn’t begin to really capture the majesty of the wildlife or the environment with my little point and shoot – but I did try to capture it all with my heart! 😀
      It was a wonderful trip and it’s really good to be home. How often can one say that? Thank you for the warm welcome!

  3. There is that old saying … “home sweet home” 😉 … but i love you and CS Lewis SO MUCH more 😉

    It is soooo good to see your picture of Alaska. I feel connected in some small way. My old soul visited that VERY same place … and now we are both home.

    BTW, Apparently we didn’t hit “bad weather” … apparently it’s always a bit “temperate rain forest” y in AK. Did you see the Iditarod dogs? DId you bring home my kissing pup, aka Henry the IX? (Behind Jen’s Henry, and your Henry) with all DUE respect. xx Mel

    1. Hello dear Mel!
      I thought about you often on the trip.
      I didn’t get to see your little Henry the lX.
      Alaska is amazing, isn’t it? Some day we all have to meet on the southern Oregon coast and I’ll take you hiking in a temperate rain forest there that looks just like Sitka (minus the totem poles)! 😀

    1. Oh Gaye, me too!
      I miss you my dear sweet friend. My next trip (probably not until early summer) will be to New Jersey to see Dan and Elissa and my sweet grand babies. I really hope to make it back to Iowa next fall. If so, we definitely have a date! 😀

  4. You tease us with one gorgeous picture! Welcome back, dear friend. You have been sorely missed. I’m glad you’ve found your way back home, however temporary it may be.

    1. Debby –
      We saw 54 Humpbacks one day;traveled with a pod of Orcas, joyful Dall Porpoises, sea otters and sea lions on another. The day I took this shot there were 10 of us on a little boat, floating off the shores of Kodiak when a small pod of humpbacks (maybe 8) joined us for about an hour. So fun!
      Great to go, great to come home and great to know where I’m going!
      I’ve missed you, too!

Leave a Reply

