What’s Love Got To Do With It

We recognize that the nature of God is love. He is guided by His affections and thoroughly resolved to pursue relationship with us. The relationship He desires is one of love, not of mutual need. The Scriptures indicate that God seeks us because He loves us, not because He needs us. John 3:16 does not say, “For God so needed the world, that He sent His only begotten Son.” Neither does it say, “For the world so needed God, that he sent His only Son.” Instead it says, “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish, but have eternal life.” God’s motivation for interaction with mankind has always been love, not need. ~ Victoria Brooks

I think we bring some element of need (no matter how small or how much we try not to) to every relationship in which we’re emotionally invested. It’s our nature. The ability to be wholly loving without need is remarkable and lies solely within His realm. It’s His nature. God would only be a god, not the God, if His love was predicated on our need.

John 3:16 is probably the one Bible verse most folks are familiar with, if not from church, from road signs and banners and bumper stickers. While familiarity doesn’t always breed contempt (Aesop), it often breeds dispassion. Victoria’s right. The verse doesn’t say: For God so needed the world and it doesn’t even say: For the world so needed God (although that’s often how I think of it).

The message is simple. For God so loved the world… We seek God because we need Him. It’s our nature. Our love comes along after we’ve addressed our need. But God seeks us because He loves us. It’s His nature. In order to really appreciate and appropriate God’s grace and mercy, I’ve had to come to terms with the fact that I need Him but He doesn’t need me. He just flat-out loves me.

It began as a love story and it will still be a love story after the final page is turned.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

25 thoughts on “What’s Love Got To Do With It”

    1. Although I’ve occasionally short-circuited that wiring, I’m extremely grateful for it! What a treat to be bumping into you everywhere today, Kate! πŸ˜€

  1. Oh wow!, Debbie
    “I’ve had to come to terms with the fact that I need Him but He doesn’t need me. He just flat-out loves me.”
    I could just hug you right now!! πŸ™‚
    What a wonderful way of looking at Calvary. Thank you πŸ™‚
    I must admit, I still cannot figure out the why behind His love, but I am thankful for the Gift Papa gave us.
    Blessings
    ann

    1. Oh Ann!
      Considered yourself hugged back!
      I think the why is Mercy and Grace – gifts don’t come any more precious than those, do they! πŸ˜€
      Blessing to you, too!

  2. This makes me think of What About Bob… “I need, I need, I need!” It’s such a funny line and I know I love that line because it’s me. My brain keeps focusing on my selfish wants and desires and what I need. I have to stop and let God out of the box. He doesn’t need. He loves. So hard to wrap my mind around His deity. I just can’t understand it so I have to accept it. Then I’m free to focus on the unimaginable love that He offers. Acceptance… verses understanding.

    1. Heidi –
      Oh yes, that famous bit: I need, I need, I need… I want… I want… I want…
      It was funny in the movie but not so funny when I act it out in real life!
      I like your take on this – there really is freedom in NOT understanding and just moving into acceptance!

  3. Oh my goodness!! I could not have communicated that as well as you had I been given a word count five times greater than those you used!! Thank you for such a beautifully wonderful and eternally true message!!

    Be blessed!!

    1. Hello Amy!
      I spent 25 years as a professional speaker. Succinct doesn’t come naturally to me! πŸ˜€
      The best thing I could have done in designing this blog was to always quote someone smarter first, and then limit my words so the whole thing can be read in about 2 minutes (I try to stay under 350 words).
      If I hadn’t set those boundaries from the start, I’d be writing volumes without saying a bit more! πŸ˜‰

  4. Oh I hadn’t thought of this, gracious one. You always make me think and that’s a good thing. And I think that I really love Him not needing me, but just loving me. God bless you as you spread His grace! love and prayers – the other deb

    1. Deb –
      Me, too! I love it that He doesn’t need me but just plain loves me.
      I think we’re so used to securing love via need that it takes a while to believe that it’s true and to realize how radically wonderful it is!

  5. Hi Debbie, long time no see! I have been so busy just have not had time to pop in.

    This is a great post with a truth that is hard to swallow. He does not need us.
    Our love is self seeking first, and everything else after…its just the way that we are. God on the other hand has nothing that needs fulfilling so He can love simply for the sake of loving…and some day so shall we!

    Blessings to you my friend
    Greg

  6. I love it. How simple and straightforward you put it. We need God but He doesn’t need us. He seeks after us. He wants that intimate fellowship with us, but He doesn’t need us. He just loves us. Amen. Thanks for such wise words in such succinct form.Great thought to take with me the rest of this day.

  7. The BEST love story! I’m thinking this morning that the joy and fulfillment in Him doesn’t really come from needs met but from the love shared. Good words – thank you!

  8. “I’ve had to come to terms with the fact that I need Him but He doesn’t need me. He just flat-out loves me.” – that was such an important realization for me. I still need reminders of that when I think I’m helping him. Thanks Debbie

    1. Debby – me, too!
      Remember that Shake and Bake commercial where the little girl says: “And I helped!” πŸ˜€
      Sometimes I still think I’m that little girl!

Leave a Reply

