New Year’s Resolutions

The object of a New Year is not that we should have a new year. It is that we should have a new soul and a new nose; new feet and a new backbone, new ears and new eyes. Unless a particular man made New Year resolutions, he would make no resolutions. Unless a man starts afresh about things he will certainly do nothing effective. ~ G.K. Chesterton

Today we begin another new year.

I don’t make New Year’s Resolutions. I don’t not make them because I don’t have areas of my life I need to change. I don’t make them but because I can’t afford to.

I’m pulled toward procrastination. I don’t think I procrastinate because I’m lazy. Usually, when I procrastinate, it’s because I don’t want to make a mistake.

If I’m not certain how to approach something, how to do or undo something, I can easily fall into doing nothing. I admire those bold people who don’t mind stepping right in it, knowing they can clean up afterwards. But I’m not one of them. I want to wait until the right moment, when I have just the right words or know the right way to go about something.

That’s why I don’t make New Year’s resolutions. I know myself well enough to know that I have to take care of things as soon as I’m aware of them, before I have time to work out just the right approach. It doesn’t matter if I want to be a kinder person or become healthier or just coral my thoughts – there’s no magic on January 1st for me.

I have to begin each day before I start each day with a prayer to learn the lessons of grace: to give without expectation, to love without condition, to be gentle when harmed and hopeful when hurt.

In this new year, I’m not making resolutions, I’m praying for a make-over: a new soul and a new nose; new feet and a new backbone, new ears and new eyes – a new heart, today and every day.

Author: Debbie

A former counselor and public speaker, I'm grateful for many, many things - God's grace most of all!

18 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions”

  1. I have never made new year resolutions, but my daily resolution, since I first read it many years ago, has been in the words found written in the journal of missionary Jim Elliot a few days before he was killed by the Auca Indians . . .
    “So live, that when you come to die, you have nothing left to do, but die”

    1. dear meetingintheclouds –
      Beautiful quote. I’ve read Shadow of the Almighty probably 4 or 5 times. Another favorite Jim Elliot qt: “He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose.”
      And while I’m quoting – πŸ˜€ – your comment reminds me of a C.S. Lewis quote:
      “Die before you die. There’s no chance after.”

  2. I think that might be what stops me too, gracious friend . . .all the mistake making I can do. I do better taking it day by day and asking Him to help me, change me. Love you and God bless you with extra grace-filled days!

    1. Hello Deb!
      I’ve found that the world still turns, even when I make mistakes, but I still fight against that fear of failure.
      There’s an old hymn we used to sing called Moment by Moment.
      I hadn’t thought of it for years until last night.The chorus reminds me of the truth of resolutions/goal setting – it has to be a moment by moment thing for me or I just stay stuck.

      Moment by moment I’m kept in His love,
      Moment by moment I’ve life from above;
      Looking to Jesus till glory doth shine
      Moment by moment, O Lord, I am Thine.

      Happy New Year, my friend!

  3. I just always get something from your posts. I shared this one with my husband, the procrastinator. Heh. Seems like you hit those familiar buttons for him too. Thank you for helping us to stay focused on each of our individual works-in-progress. Happy New Year, Debbie, and God Bless.

    1. Happy New Year, Lori!
      It’s funny because I’m a hard worker but when I need to face something I have no idea how to do – particularly things that are mechanical or technologically related – I’m dead in my tracks.
      I used to think that New Year’s resolutions were fun.
      Now I can see that I often put off making changes until then and if I failed to follow through, it was so hard to get psyched up again because there wasn’t another “special” change day on the calendar.
      I learned some years ago that I have to take care of things as soon as I become aware or
      1. I’ll make them bigger and bigger, thinking about it
      OR
      2. I’ll forget to think about it at all πŸ˜€
      Love to see you here!

    1. Hello Wendy –
      Well, it’s a goal… I miss the mark sometimes but I’m praying to remember to pray to live a remodeled life. πŸ˜€
      Happy New Year, dear Wendy!

    1. Larry –
      Yes, so very true and I’m increasingly grateful.
      Grace – always sufficient, always seeking only to be sought and shared.
      Happy New Year, Larry!

Leave a Reply

